Early Goals the key for Dublin in this Leinster Final Flashback

Dublin 2-23
Kildare 1-17

With two green flags raised by 11 minutes, this Leinster Football Final was all but done, as Dublin powered through to lift the Delaney Cup for a record seventh time. To their credit Kildare were worthy opponents to the kings of the province.

The Lillywhites notched the first point of the game courtesy of Daniel Flynn, but Dean Rock struck goal in the 10th minute and James McCarthy followed less than a minute later, sending Kildare completely onto the back foot.

To their credit, they worked extremely hard up to the half-time whistle. After 20 minutes trailed 2-4 to 0-1 but by the break had closed that gap to 2-8 to 0-10. Points from Johnny Byrne and Daniel Flynn were the pick of the bunch during that rare scoring spree.

Second Half Experts

But in trademark style, Dublin just took off after the interval. And with Dean Rock being dismissed on a black card on the 23rd minute, the new kid in town, Con O’Callaghan was charged with the duty of managing the dead ball game, scoring six frees to be included in his impressive tally of 0-12 for the day.

Bernard Brogan, who had only played a bit part in the Championship, took his opportunity, replacing Rock, and scoring 0-05, proving his value to the Dublin panel.

Kildare had the most amazing chance to hit the net in the 42nd minute when Daniel Flynn burst through but Stephen Cluxton was equal to his close-range shot, stopping the danger in it’s tracks.

With the score at 2-11 to 0-11 Dublin continued their onslaught, kicking six of the next seven points in the game to move out of sight.

With nothing to lose Kildare continued to push right until the finish and they did manage to recover a goal of their own deep in additional time when Paddy Brophy swooped on a high ball from Eamonn Callaghan before nudging the ball to the net.

But Dublin finished nine points clear as their reign in Leinster continues.

Scorers for Dublin:

Con O’Callaghan 0-12 (6f)
Bernard Brogan 0-05
James McCarthy 1-00
Dean Rock 1-00
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-02
Paul Mannion 0-01
Paddy Andrews 0-01
Shane Carthy 0-01
Brian Howard 0-01

Scorers for Kildare:

Paddy Brophy 1-03 (1f)
Kevin Feely 0-05 (4f)
Daniel Flynn 0-02
Cathal McNally 0-02
Johnny Byrne 0-01
Keith Cribbin 0-01
Niall Kelly 0-01
David Slattery 0-01
Fionn Dowling 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
22. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
4. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)
26. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
12. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
9. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
13. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)


18. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh) for Rock (black card) (24)
20. Shane Carthy (St Vincent’s) for Scully (47)
22. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens) for McMahon (48)
23. Kevin McManamon (St Judes) for Andrews (51)
19. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf) for O’Sullivan (58)
21. Brian Howard (Raheny) for Fenton (67)


1. Mark Donnelan (Maynooth)
2. Mark O’Grady (Celbridge)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)
5. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
6. Eoin Doyle (c) (Naas)
7. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)
10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Niall Kelly (Athy)
12. David Slattery (Confey)
13. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Cathal McNally (Johnstownbridge)


25. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge) for Conway (44)
17. Fionn Dowling (Suncroft) for Moolick (48)
18. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House) for Doyle (52)
26. Ben McCormack (Sarsfields) for McNally (57)
21. Emmet Bolton (Eadestown) for Byrne (63)
19. Eamonn Callaghan (Naas) for Feely (black card) (64)