Cormac Costello Leads Dublin to Second O’Byrne Cup Victory


Dessie Farrell’s Footballers cruised to a comprehensive O’Byrne Cup win over Louth at Parnell Park

O'Byrne Cup - Dublin v Louth

A step closer to the O’Byrne Cup Final, and a step further away from the disappointment of last Autumn’s All Ireland exit for Dessie Farrell. Dublin‘s Senior Footballers eased past Mickey Harte’s Louth charges.

The Dubs experienced no real trouble last night in Parnell Park, with Cormac Costello bagging 2 goals in the first half. And while Kyle McElroy snatched a three pointer for Louth, it appeared the job for Louth last night was damage limitation with huge defensive spells.

A many as 12 substitutions saw sweeping changes across the Louth outfit. And they outscored Dublin by 0-04 to 0-02 in the third quarter of action. But the home side never looked like losing control. Costello hit 2-03 in the opening half, finishing with a tally of 2-05 before being substituted 5 minutes from full time. The last time

It was a busy night for Louth keeper Martin McEnearney with Dublin hitting the net three times, and it could have been more. But the Dubs stretched extended winning margin through late Harry Ladd, Brian Fenton, Lorcan O’Dell and Aaron Byrne points, before O’Dell  converted from the penalty spot.

The Dublin football panel finish their O’Byrne Cup Round phase against Longford this weekend before the competition final the following weekend.

Dublin Scorers:

Cormac Costello 2-5 (0-3 frees)
Harry Ladd 0-2
Lorcan O’Dell 1-1 (1-0 penalty)
Brian Fenton 0-3
Ross McGarry 0-2
Ryan Basquel 0-2
David Lacey 0-2
Aaron Byrne 0-1
Cameron McCormack 0-1

Louth Scorers:

Ciarán Byrne 0-4 (0-1 free)
Kyle McElroy 1-0
Jay Hughes 0-2 (0-1 free)
TJ Doheny 0-1
Tadhg McEnaney 0-1 (mark)
Conor Early 0-1
Tommy Durnin 0-1


1. Michael Shiel
2. Adam Rafter
3. David Byrne
4. Lee Gannon
5. Ciarán Gallagher
6. John Small
7. Niall Scully
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Cameron McCormack
10. Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
11. Warren Egan
12. David Lacey
13. Harry Ladd
14. Ryan Basquel
15. Cormac Costello

Dublin Substitutes:

19. Darragh Conlon for Gannon (HT)
20. Brian Howard for Gallagher (44)
17. Aaron Byrne for Egan (47)
25. Paddy Small for Lacey (50)
22. Mark Lavin for McGarry (55)
21. Tom Lahiff for J. Small (65)
24. Lorcan O’Dell for Costello (65)
18. Shane Carthy for McCormack (69)


1. Martin McEneaney
2. Tom Jackson
25. Dermot Campbell
4. Conor Clarke
5. Conor Faulkner
6. Gerard Browne
7. Gabriel Bell
8. Tommy Durnin
9. Jack Murphy
2. James McDonnell
12. Eoin Moore
17. TJ Doheny
13. Tadhg McEnaney
14. Cathal Fleming
18. Kyle McElroy

Louth Substitutes:

28. Donal McKenny for Campbell (HT)
20. Conall McKeever for Clarke (HT)
21. Seán Healy for Browne (HT)
19. Leonard Grey for Bell (HT)
3. Bevan Duffy for Durnin (HT)
24. Conor Early for Murphy (HT)
11. Liam Jackson for McDonnell (HT)
22. Eoghan Callaghan for Moore (HT)
23. Niall Sharkey for Doheny (HT)
27. Jay Hughes for McEnaney (HT)
26. Ciarán Byrne for Fleming (HT)
15. Dáire Nally for McElroy (HT)
2. McDonnell for Hughes (52)