Cluxton Snubbed Again As 2018 All Star Award Winners Announced

By November 1, 2018 No Comments

Cluxton Hasn’t Won An All Star Award Since 2013


Dublin Captain Stephen Cluxton in a Navy Jersey and shorts has once again been snubbed for an All Star Award


Once again Dublin Captain Stephen Cluxton has been snubbed by the All Star committee as the 2018 All Star team was announced today.

Dublin dominate the All Star team with seven players selected, Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Paul Mannion and Ciarán Kilkenny.

This is fifth year in a row that Cluxton has been over looked for an All Star award this despite the Parnells GAA man captaining Dublin to four All Ireland titles in a row.

Stephen has previously won five All Stars but the last of them came back in 2013. In each of his last four All Ireland winning years the selection committee have for some reason chose to ignore the Dublin number 1.

Cluxton despite being consistently hailed as the best keeper in the country has lost out on the goalkeeping All Star position to Kerry’s Brendan Kealy in 2015, Mayo’s David Clarke in 2016 and 2017 and this year to Monaghan’s Rory Beggan.

Now Beggan had a fantastic season this year but he also made some critical errors in both the Ulster and All Ireland Championships that cost his team dearly.

One has to wonder what it is Stephen Cluxton has to do to be considered for selection, although former Dublin footballer Ciarán Whelan insists Cluxton won’t be missing any sleep over missing out yet again on an All Star award.

Whelan also believes that maybe Cluxton’s lack of engagement with the media over his career is another reason for his constant omission from All Star teams.

“The talk is that it wasn’t even close, which is a worrying thing as well in terms of the votes,” Whelan told the RTÉ Radio 1 program Morning Ireland.

“If you call a spade a spade, Stephen hasn’t engaged closely with the media over the last nine or ten years and you wonder if that has come against him.

“It’s disappointing. The only thing is it won’t bother him, he will push on and go for another All-Ireland.

“He has been hugely influential in everything that is good about Dublin, he was cool and calm in the All-Ireland final second half.

“He had a 100% return on his kick outs, it’s hard to believe at times the way he has been treated over the last three or four years when he hasn’t been in the team.

Cluxton’s constant omission questions the validity of these awards as does some of the strange positional choices, yes it was stated a few years back that winners are not always picked in the position they played in, a typical example of that is in the list of this year’s winners and the placing of Tyrone’s Colm Cavanagh in the fullback position.

Now that’s not to say Cavanagh didn’t deserve an All Star Award but certainly not in the position he was placed and what a kick in the teeth that is to all the fullbacks around the country.

Each year there are more and more debates and raised eyebrows at the selection of the All Star team. Maybe it’s time the make-up of the selection committee needs to be looked at or the criteria of how winners are chosen needs to be addressed.

If the idea of the All Stars is to pick the best players in the positions they played in then that’s how it should be and not as it looks now a politically correct sharing around of the Awards around the country.

Plus sticking to picking the best player in his position will also stop the focus being centered on omissions and strange positional choices and focus on the winners and the fantastic football they treated GAA supporters to throughout the season.


2018 PwC Football All Stars:




1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)




2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

Previous winner in 2016


3. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Previous winner in 2017


4. Pádraig Hampsey (Tyrone)


5. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)


6. James McCarthy (Dublin)

Previous winner in 2014 & 2017


7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Previous winner in 2015 & 2017




8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

Previous winner in 2015 & 2016


9. Brian Howard (Dublin)




10. Paul Mannion (Dublin)

Previous winner in 2017


11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Previous winner in 2015 & 2016


12. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

Previous winner in 2016


13. David Clifford (Kerry)


14. Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Previous winner in 2013 & 2015


15. Ian Burke (Galway)

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :