GAANOW chooses their three Classic Clashes between Dublin and Tyrone over the last two decades

We get into double figures this weekend as Dublin and Tyrone meet in Championship action for the tenth time. And of the nine so far, Dublin have won six, Tyrone two, with the remaining game ending in a draw.

They now meet for only the second time in an All Ireland final. They’ve shared the field for two semi finals, five quarter finals, and Phase 2 in this year’s Super 8’s competition.

To showcase the build up to this weekend’s All Football Ireland Final, GAANOW have chosen their three Classic Clashes. The drawn Quarter Final in 2005, Tyrone’s Quarter Final win in 2008, and Dublin’s Quarter Final win in 2011. So here’s a snapshot of each game.

All Ireland Quarter Final 2005

Dublin 1-14
Tyrone 1-14

Dublin and Tyrone had to do it all again after this thrilling All Ireland quarter final ended in a draw at 1-14 a piece. Tomas Quinn rescued the Dubs with a pressure free deep into stoppage time to send the game to a replay.

Dublin led by five points at the break, but a breathtaking Owen Mulligan goal brought Tyrone right back into it. And they looked as if they were about to go through to the last four, but two late points earned another chance for Paul Caffrey’s men. Quinn had followed through on a saved shot by Jason Sherlock in the first half to raise a green flag for the Dubs.

It was Quinn’s two late points that levelled the game sending it t replay, which Tyrone eventually winning 2-18 to 1-14 and advancing to the Semi Finals.

All Ireland Quarter Final 2008

Tyrone 3-14
Dublin 1-08

After racking up 3-23 against Wexford in the Leinster Final, Dublin were hot favourites, especially as Tyrone had just squeezed past Mayo by a point in their final qualifier.

But the Dubs, who lost Alan Brogan after six minutes, were a shadow of themselves. Tyrone, led by Brian Dooher and Tommy McGuigan, destroyed them, scoring 3-13 from play and were 14 points up on the hour.

All Ireland Quarter Final 2011

Dublin 0-22
Tyrone 0-15

The year Dublin finally recaptured Sam Maguire. And in the Quarter Final they put on a display of the greatest point scoring Croke Park had ever seen. Diarmuid Connolly and Bernard Brogan flexed their scoring muscles with 0-12 between them, only one of them from a free.

Dublin stifled Sean Cavanagh and Martin Penrose, with both players only able to score one each from play and convert the rest from dead balls. It was a game that led Dublin to beat Donegal in the semi final. And it set up an historic battle against Kerry, which would see Stephen Cluxton score a late free to crown Dublin All Ireland Champions

(video credit: Official GAA via YouTube)