Dublin crowned Leinster U20 Football Champions at the second time of asking thanks to an outstanding Ciaran Archer Performance

Ciaran Archer - Dublin Leinster U20 Champions

Dublin 4-18
Laois 0-17

At the second time of asking Tom Gray’s Dublin team claimed the  Leinster U20 Football Championship crown tonight. Twelve months ago Kildare beat Dublin in the first ever U20 competition, but tonight in Tullamore the Dubs made absolutely no mistake.

The headlines from this evening’s provincial will deservedly be stolen by rising Dublin star Ciaran Archer. The St. Maurs Full Forward had already bagged 3-16 across the Leinster Quarter Final and Semi Final. But tonight, in an absolutely astonishing individual performance, Archer finished as player of the match on 3-08 of Dublin’s 4-18 tally.

That hat trick, and another goal from Kieran Kennedy saw Dublin blow Laois away. They trailed for a short time around the first quarter but from there they kicked on to completely control the game

Dublin remain calm and pull away from Laois in the second quarter

Five minutes into the game Dublin were 0-04 to 0-00 the better thanks to score from Karl Lynch Bissett, Seán Lambe, Ross McGarry and Archer. Laois forwards Diarmuid Whelan and Michael Doran finally got their side up and running. And after Archer converted his first free of the night, Whelan (3) and Alan Kinsella gave Laois a slight edge on the fixture.

James Doran levelled the tie three minutes later, Brian OLeary, Archer and Niall O’Leary, who had a goal chance, pushed the Dubs out to a three point lead.

With 7 minutes of the half remaining Laois keeper Matthew chose the short route, but Archer was on hand to pounce on the ball and run into a huge amount of space. There was only going to be one outcome as the Maurs man sent the ball into the bottom right of the net. Ronan Coffey and Mark Barry pulled back two scores for their side. But those score were sandwiched between two more Archer score to give Dublin a 1-11 to 0-08 lead at the break

Three second half goals leave Laois reeling

By the middle of the second session the game was all but over. Dublin started the half with a Brian O’Leary score. But over a three minute period Laois closed the gap to four, with points Whelan, Barry and Kinsella. Archer and Laois substitute Owens traded scores.

Then Ross McGarry found a gap and shot the ball toward the Laois goal but it deflected off a Laois back. There was only one man in space to throw his boot at the rebound, and Ciaran Archer bagged his second goal.

Laois to their credit battled on. An Eoin Dunne point was followed by another Whelan free. But the game was over when Kieran Kennedy received a hand pass from Peadar O’Cofaigh Byrne and buried it to the net.

Dublin keeper David O’Hanlon pulled off a massive save at the other end to stop Diarmuid Whelan’s shot. But the Dubs received a penalty when O’Cofaigh Byrne was pulled in the square. And on a night like tonight, Ciaran Archer was never gonna pass up the opportunity to get his hat trick.

James Doran (2) and Ross McGarry finished the tie strong, with Dublin ending with a 14 point win.

Dublin Scorers:

Ciaran Archer 3-08 (1-00pen, 7f)
James Doran 0-03
Kieran Kennedy 1-00
Brian O’Leary 0-02
Ross McGarry 0-02 (1f)
Sean Lambe 0-01
Niall O’Leary 0-01
Karl Lynch Bissett 0-01

Laois Scorers:

Diarmuid Whelan 0-08 (6f)
Alan Kinsella 0-02
Mark Barry 0-02 (1f)
Eoin Dunne 0-01
Michael Doran 0-01
Ronan Coffey 0-01
Jack Owens 0-01
Niall Dunne 0-01


1. David O’Hanlon
2. Darren Maher
3. Daire Newcombe
4. Eoin O’Dea
5. Kieran Kennedy
6. Neil Matthews
7. Seán Lambe
8. Peadar O’Cofaigh Byrne
9. Donal Ryan
10. Niall O’Leary
11. Karl Lynch Bissett
12. James Doran
13. Brian O’Leary
14. Ciarán Archer
15. Ross McGarry

Dublin Substitutes:

David Lacey for Ryan (43)
Harry Ladd for B O’Leary (55)
Aaron Lynch for Maher (55)
Conor Kinsella for O’Dea (57)
Mark Lavin for N O’Leary (60)
Sean Foran for Kennedy (60)


1. Matthew Byron
2. Michael Dowling
3. Seamus Lacey
4. Alex Mohan
5. Colin Slevin
6. Seán O’Flynn
7. Dean Brophy
8. Robert Tyrell
9. Eoin Dunne
10. Ronan Coffey
11. Michael Doran
12. Mark Barry
13. Alan Kinsella
14. Dan McCormack
15. Diarmuid Whelan

Laois Substitutions:

Jack Owens for Doran (36)
Niall Dunne for McCormack (38)
Jason Maher for Coffee (48)
Kevin Byrne for Lacey (55)
Ross Brennan for Brophy (58)
Jack Lacey for Mohan (58)