A goal and seven points from Colm and Ryan Basquel help Ballyboden to Quarter Final win over Newtown Blues

Ballyboden St. Endas - Leinster Senior Football Championship

Ballyboden St. Endas 1-11
Newtown Blues 0-05

The Gaelic Grounds in Drogheda proved a lucky venue again for Dublin Senior Champions Ballyboden St. Endas. This afternoon they got their Leinster Campaign off to a winning start with a 1-11 to 0-05 victory over Louth Champions Newtown Blues

Back in 2015 Boden began their Leinster Football Championship run at the Louth ground and went all the way to winning the All Ireland Club Championship. Today they stopped Newtown Blues in the tracks after they’d picked up their third Louth title in a row.

Colm Basquel added 1-04 to his tally from play this afternoon, with brother Ryan bagging 0-03 in a late surge seeing Boden finish comfortably. Anthony Rainbow deployed clever substitutes, including Conal Keaney, to great effect.

The Dublin champs were pushed all the way by a very dogged Newtown Blues side. But the Louth kingpins were heavy legged by the last quarter and couldn’t keep up with a more powerful Boden.

Blues frustrated Ballyboden in the opening half, with both sides sharing an equal amount of turnovers. And by the break they shared a 0-03 lead. The Louth side defended menacingly, stopping a plethora of Boden attacks. Rob Carr opened the scoring for Newtown on five minutes, but the score was cancelled out by Boden defender Cathal Flaherty. Later in the half Flaherty would be sent to the bench for an off the ball incident.

Ryan Basquel put Boden in front but both sides were struggling to convert their chances. Andy McDonnell pulled a score back for the Blues, and scores for Ciaran Downey Colm Basquel saw the sides level at half time.

Fourth Quarter Muscle sees Ballyboden rush to victory

The action continued that way in the third quarter. Colm Judge and McDonnell found the target for Newtown. Ross McGarry and Ryan Basquel chalked a couple more on for Boden.

With fifteen minutes on the clock Ballyboden shifted gears and would hold Newtown scoreless for the remainder of the game. Keaney came off the bench to a huge applause and a brace of points from him, and a late goal from Colm Basquel saw Anthony Rainbow’s side clinch victory. They’ll now face Westmeath side Garrycastle in two weeks time.

Scorers for Ballyboden St Endas:

Colm Basquel 1-04
Ryan Basquel 0-03 (1f, 1 pen)
Conal Keaney 0-02
Ross McGarry 0-01
Cathal Flaherty 0-01

Scorers for Newtown Blues:

Andy McDonnell 0-02 (2f)
Ciaran Downey 0-01 (1f)
Rob Carr 0-01
Colm Judge 0-01

Ballyboden St Endas:

1. Darragh Gogan
2. Bob Dwan
3. Shane Clayton
4. Cathal Flaherty
22. Brian Bobbett
6. Robbie McDaid
7. Aron Waters
23. Kieran Kennedy
9. Declan O’Mahoney
10. Darren O’Reilly
11. Colm Basquel
12. Alan Flood
13. Ross McGarry
14. Ryan Basquel
15. Warren Egan

Ballyboden St. Endas Substitutes:

18. Conal Keaney for Egan (44)
21. James Holland for O’Reilly (44)
20. Tom Hayes for Flood (47)
8. Michael Darragh Macauley for A Water (53)
17. Sean Gibbons for O’Mahony (56)

Newtown Blues:

1. Jason Lowney
2. Johnny Connolly
3. Fergal Donohoe
4. Alan Connor
5. Kevin Carr
6. Emmet Carolan
7. Ian Connor
8. Andy McDonnell
9. John Kermode
10. Conor Branigan
11. Colm Judge
12. Rob Carr
17. Paul Moore
14. Ciaran Downey
22. Jamie Kelly

Newtown Blues Substitutes:

15. Conor Moore for J Kelly (22)
24. Johnny McDonnell for Ian Connor (46)
19. Thomas Costello for Branigan (52)
18. Cormac Reynolds for Rob Carr (52)
21. Niall Costello for Carolan (55, black card)
25. Ronan Levins for Judge (62, black card)