Dublin champions Ballyboden St. Endas proved too strong for Garrycastle as they advance to the 2019 Leinster Football Final

Ballyboden St. Endas - Leinster Senior Football Championship

Ballyboden St. Endas 3-14
Garrycastle 0-12

The last time Ballyboden St. Endas won the Leinster Senior Football title in 2015 they went on to lift AIB Senior Football Championship a few months later. And this afternoon the South Dublin club put in a powerful performance over Westmeath’s Garrycastle to book their place in the final on December 8th.

Ultimately goals from Robbie McDaid, Ryan Basquel and James Holland seperated the sides. But a fantastic goal keeping performance from Darragh Gogan helped Boden complete the job.

In Mullingar this afternoon the GAA world may very well have seen the last performance of Westmeath great Dessie Dolan, as the 40 year announced his retirement following Garrycastle county final win.

The county legend opened the scoring for his side, but Colm Basquel cancelled it out in the early going. And six minutes in, after a fantastic solo run, Boden half back Robbie McDaid finished the ball to the net for their first of three green flags.

Four unanswered scores followed before Dolan and Eoin Monaghan responded to try close the gap for Garrycastle. But Ballyboden’s response was equally as postive, reeling off three more scores. And as the sides played cat and mouse for the remainder of the half the Dublin champs held an eight point advantage at the break on 1-10 to 0-05.

Garrycastle’s comeback attempt never took legs

A spirited Garrycastle hit the first three points of the second half courtesy of Dolan, with Ross McGarry stopping the danger with a score in the 35th. Dolan pointed a free which would be Garrycastle’s last of the game as Ballyboden took the game by the neck.

With Seven minutes of normal game time on the clock Colm Basquel registered Boden’s second goal, extending their lead to nine points, and ultimately putting the tie to bed. James Holland, who was less than two minutes on the pitch scored their third in the 57th.

In the end the Dublin Champions held out for an eleven point victory, easily securing a place in the provincial final, against Eire Og of Carlow in the decider.

Scorers for Ballyboden St. Enda’s:

Ryan Basquel 1-03
Robbie McDaid 1-01
James Holland 1-00
Colm Basquel 0-03 (2f)
Ross McGarry 0-03
Alan Flood 0-02
Darren O’Reilly 0-01
Conal Keaney 0-01 (1f)

Scorers for Garrycastle:

Dessie Dolan 0-07 (6f)
Eoin Monaghan 0-01
James Dolan 0-01
Jason Nugent 0-01
Ger Heneghan 0-01 (1f)
James Sheerin 0-01

Ballyboden St. Enda’s

1. Darragh Gogan
2. Bob Dwan
3. Shane Clayton
4. Kieran Kennedy
17. Sean Gibbons
6. Robbie McDaid
22. Brian Bobbett
19. Donogh McCabe
9. Declan O’Mahoney
10. Darren O’Reilly
11. Colm Basquel
12. Alan Flood
13. Ros McGarry
14. Ryan Basquel
15. Warren Egan

Ballyboden St. Endas Subs:

8. Michael Darragh Macauley for McCabe (43)
18. Conal Keaney for Flood (45)
20. Tom Hayes for Egan (50)
21. James Holland for O’Mahoney (55)
23. Cian Murray for Ryan Basquel (58)
26. Ciaran O’Reilly for McGarry (60)


1. Sean Brennan
2. Matthew Guiheen
3. Jack Donohue
4. Mark McCallon
5. James Dolan
6. John Gaffey
7. Gary McCallon
8. Justin Barrett
9. Doron Harte
30. Andrew Monaghan
11. Eoin Monaghan
12. Michael Monaghan
13. James Sheerin
14. Alex Gardiner
15. Dessie Dolan

Garrycastle Substitutes:

23. Jason Nugent for Eoin Monaghan (HT)
20. Conor Cosgrove for Dessie Dolan (50)
21. Mickey Greene for Aandrew Monaghan (50)
28. Eoin Mulvihil for Donoghue (55)
25. Ger Heneghan for MMichael Monaghan (57)