Archer Turns The Tables As Dublin Advance To All Ireland U20 Final


The Maurs man was quiet in places but came good when it counted to send Dublin through to All Ireland Final

All Ireland U20 Semi Final

Dublin 1-14
Tyrone 1-12

They left it late but a strong finish from Tom Gray’s Dublin U20 football panel sees them through to the EirGrid All Ireland Final for the second successive year. With 10 minutes to go Dublin were on the brink of being knocked out by a very tight Tyrone outfit, but scored four without reply to secure their place in next week’s decider.

The Dubs will now face Kerry or Galway in this year’s All Ireland Final, and will want to banish the memory of losing to Cork last year.

Last year’s U20 Footballer Of The Year Ciaran Archer, showed once again why he’s the ace in the hole for Tom Gray. Despite a quiet start, Archer came to life just when Dublin needed a lift and registered six points (3f). Man of the Match Mark Lavin bagged three himself, but it was his workrate that would have made him stand out.

Tyrone to their credit lead for the majority of the game. Tiarnan Quinn and Ethan Jordan fronted their charge with 1-08 between them, while Darragh Canavan picked up 0-03 in the first half.

Both sides went toe to toe in the early exchanges until Dublin hit the net, thanks to Brian O’Leary.

Mark Lavin added a score, but Tyrone would take hold of the game after the opening water break, scoring 1-04 without reply. Canavan impressed in this period, scoring off his left and right. Sandwiched between, Tiarnan Quinn netted Tyrone’s goal. Rory Donnelly and James McCann linked for the build up, but Donnelly’s shot was blocked. Thankfully it fell into the path of Quinn who finished cleanly.

Archer came to life with three points, closing the gap to one score with Dublin still trailing by 1-07 to 1-06 at the beginning of the second half. Tyrone began to rely on Ethan Jordan as Dublin blocked up the chennels. Jordan converted four frees, but Dublin kept in touch thanks to Archer, Lavin and O’Leary.

Eventually it was Lorcan O’Dell who levelled things, giving Dublin a chance to pounce. And it was Archer, as usual, who gave Dublin the lead they never lost. Archer and Lee Gannon tagged on scores to secure the win for Dublin, with Tiarnan Quinn awarded a black card in the closing stages.

Dublin Scorers:

Ciaran Archer 0-06 (3f)
Brian O’Leary 1-01
Mark Lavin 0-03
Lorcan O’Dell 0-02
Lee Gannon 0-01
Sean Lowry 0-01

Tyrone Scorers:

Tiarnan Quinn 1-03 (1f)
Ethan Jordan 0-05 (4f)
Darragh Canavan 0-03 (1f)
Simon Garrity 0-01


Josh O’Neill
Conor Tyrrell
Adam Rafter
Josh Bannon
Mark O’Leary
Adam Waddick
Lee Gannon
Adam Fearon
Sean Foran
Mark Lavin
Lorcan O’Dell
Sean Lowry
Ciaran Archer
Luke Swan
Brian O’Leary

Dublin Substitutes:

Evan Caulfield for Fearon (10-14mins blood)
Rory Dwyer for Foran (HT)
Kieran McKeon for Fearon (42)
Padraig Purcell for Lowry (62)


Lorcan Quinn
Conal Devlin
Cormac Munroe
Cormac Quinn
Antoin Fox
Michael Gallagher
James McCann
Kevin Barker
Rory Donnelly
Tom Donaghy
Tiarnan Quinn
Ethan Jordan
Darragh Canavan
Simon Garrity
Matthew Murnaghan.

Tyrone Substitutes:

Ryan Jones for Donaghy (28 mins)
Mark Hayes for Garrity (43 mins)
Joe Oguz for Barker (48 mins)
Liam Gray for Donnelly (58 mins)