All Ireland Memories: Dublin v Kerry Semi Final 2016


Another of Dublin’s memorable All Ireland memories as they saw off Kerry in the 2016 Semi Final

Dublin 0-22
Kerry 2-14

The well never runs dry when it comes to All Ireland memories between Dublin and Kerry. And during this baron spell of action for all supporters around the country, what better way to pass some time then to share another classic moment from the last decade between these two sides.

In 2016 Dublin were in search of back to back All Ireland titles, which we know now they successfully obtained beating Mayo on the second time of asking. But to reach the decider for Sam Maguire, their greatest rivals Kerry again stood in their way.

And Dublin never let their head’s drop, with late scores from Eoghan O’Gara and Diarmuid Connolly sealing their date with Sam on a 0-22 to 2-14 scoreline.

In an epic football encounter, like we’d expect anything less, Eamonn Fitzmaurice’s Kerry side threw the kitchen sink at Dublin but fell short. Had they have won the contest they’d have been more than deserving.

A fantastic spell for the Kingdom during the first period saw them hit 2-04 without reply to see them comfortable leaders at the break by 2-08 to 0-09.

Darren O’Sullivan and Paul Geaney were on target for the goals, both of which Stephen Cluxton will not look back fondly on. And when Paul Murphy hit a score in the 61st minute, Kerry were looking strong down the home straight leading by 2-13 to 0-16. But Dublin finished strong with Kevin McManamon and Dean Rock in outstanding form. But it was Eoghan O’Gara and Diarmuid Connolly who ultimately got Dublin over the line.

Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 0-12 (8f, 2 ’45)
Diarmuid Connolly 0-03,
Kevin McManamon 0-02
Bernard Brogan 0-02
Philly McMahon 0-01
Brian Fenton 0-01
Eoghan O’Gara 0-01

Scorers for Kerry:

Paul Geaney 1-04
Colm Cooper 0-05 (4f)
Darran O’Sullivan 1-00
Barry John Keane 0-01
David Moran 0-01
Stephen O’Brien 0-01
James O’Donoghue 0-01
Paul Murphy 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
4. David Byrne
2. Philly McMahon
3. Jonny Cooper
5. James McCarthy
6. Cian O’Sullivan
7. John Small
8. Brian Fenton
23. Michael Darragh MacAuley
10. Paul Flynn
14. Diarmuid Connolly
12. Ciaran Kilkenny
24. Kevin McManamon
13. Dean Rock
15. Bernard Brogan

Dublin Substitutes:

17. Paddy Andrews for Flynn (45)
11. Paul Mannion for Small (50)
26. Eoghan O’Gara for MacAuley (59)
21. Michael Fitzsimons for Cooper (66)
19. Cormac Costello for Brogan (70)


1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
2. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
4. Killian Young (C) (Renard)
10. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
23. Anthony Maher (Duagh)
9. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
17. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar)
12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)
24. Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore)
11. Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes)
8. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)

Kerry Substitutes:

13. Stephen O’Brien for Darran O’Sullivan (39)
15. James O’Donoghue for Donaghy (inj) (50)
19. Barry John Keane for Walsh (51)
5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich for Morley (56)
18. Bryan Sheehan for Maher (58)
20. Marc Ó Sé for Geaney (66)