While All Ireland U21 Hurling Champions Waterford have obviously dominated the selections in this years Bord Gais Energy Team Of The Year, two of Joe Fortunes Dublin stars have been chosen as part of the fifteen players honored.

Whitehall Colmcille’s Eoghan O’Donnell and Na Fianna’s Shane Barrett have been chosen in the six defensive positions from the eighteen names shortlisted.

The eight Waterford representatives and two Dublin candidates are joined on the team by two players from Galway and one player each from Tipperary, Limerick and Westmeath.

All the recipients will receive their awards at a special celebration in Dublin’s Mansion House this Saturday night, were the U21 Player Of The Year will also be announced.

The Player Of The Year competition has been completely swept away by the Waterford team this year and Austin Gleeson, Patrick Curran and Stephen Bennett will find out which one of them receives the coveted prize.

This years team was picked by Bord Gáis Energy Sports Ambassador and Dublin Senior Hurling Manager Ger Cunningham, TG4’s Michéal Ó Domhnaill, Waterford great Ken McGrath and Galway sharpshooter Joe Canning.

2016 Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year

1 Jordan Henley (Waterford)
2 Conor Gleeson (Waterford)
3 Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)
4 Darragh Lyons (Waterford)
5 Micheál Harney (Waterford)
6 Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
7 Shane Barrett (Dublin)
8 Dan Nevin (Galway)
9 Ronan Lynch (Limerick)
10 Shane Bennett (Waterford)
11 Brian Molloy (Galway)
12 Andrew Coffey (Tipperary)
13 Patrick Curran (Waterford)
14 Stephen Bennett (Waterford)
15 Niall Mitchell (Westmeath)

Bord Gáis Energy U-21 Player of the Year Nominees
Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
Patrick Curran (Waterford)
Stephen Bennett (Waterford)