Two Dublin Changes For 2023 Leinster Senior Camogie Championship Final


The 2023 Leinster Senior Camogie Championship Final tomorrow afternoon in Nowlan Park is a repeat of last seasons final

The Dublin Squad who Dave Kilkenny tomorrow in the 2023 Leinster Senior Camogie Championship Final.
The Dublin Squad who Dave Kilkenny tomorrow in the 2023 Leinster Senior Camogie Championship Final. Image Credit: iLivephotos

The Dublin team has been announced for the 2023 Leinster Senior Camogie Championship Final against Kilkenny tomorrow at 2.30pm in Nowlan Park.

The Dublin management have made two changes to the side that comprehensively beat Meath last weekend in the semi-final.

Mairi Moynihan is named is goal in place of Eabha Mooney and Leah Butler replaces Aoife Heffernan in midfield although it must be noted that both replacements this week were named to start last weekend and there is the possibility of similar changes before the game throws-in tomorrow.

After a disappointing league campaign Dublin have hit the ground running in the 2023 Leinster Senior Camogie championship putting in two impressive displays in the quarter final and semi-final stages. Up first in the quarters was a meeting with Wexford at the Trinity Sports Grounds in Santry.

Wexford edged the opening half to lead by three at the break thanks to a fortuitous goal in what was a highly competitive opening thirty plus minutes, but Dublin came out for the second half full of determination to turn the game around and were rewarded for their tenacity and no shortage of skill as they turned the came on its head with two second half goals, Aisling Maher from the a penalty and Niamh Comerford with a deft touch to flick the ball to the net past the onrushing Wexford keeper with the final score 2-13 to 1-14.

Next up was a semi final meeting with near neighbours Meath in Trim GAA last Saturday. Dublin came flying out of traps from the off and were just too sharp and clinical for The Royals on the day and Gerry McQuaid’s side built up a six point lead by the break with the score 0-11 to 0-05.

Dublin were relentless after the break they quickly extended their lead to fourteen points midway through the second half, the home crowd raised a cheer with thirteen minutes left on the clock when Aoife Minogue found the back of the net from a free, but Dublin drove on and a goal from Grace O’Shea ended an slim hopes of a dramatic comeback.

By the final whistle the Dublin lead was sixteen points and could have been an even greater margin had it not been for Tara Murphy in the Meath goal who pulled off a number of excellent saves and the post and crossbar which also came to the aid of the home side. The full-time score was Dublin 1-23, Meath 1-07.

Tomorrow’s opponents Kilkenny are the reigning Leinster and All Ireland champions and will provide a stern test of Dublin’s upswing in form. Kilkenny reached the final thanks to a facile win over Westmeath in the other semi final conceding just six points on the day and raising four green flags in their comprehensive win which finished 4-21 to 0-06.

The final tomorrow afternoon is a repeat of the 2022 final, Dublin will be hoping for a different outcome to that game which seen the Dubs starting the game well but they lost their way after Kilkenny grabbed the opening goal of the contest and by the final whistle had been well beaten with the final score 5-11 to 0-12.

Dublin will go into tomorrow’s final as clear underdogs against red hot favourites Kilkenny who have also been handed the advantage of playing the final in their own backyard, but sport is all about the romance of the underdog dethroning the favourites and maybe if Dublin continue on the upward curve and lady-luck is on their side tomorrow, maybe they can pull off what many would see as the shock of the championship so far.

Dublin: 1. Mairi Moynihan (Lucan Sarsfields), 2. Zoe Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 3. Abbey Ryan (Crumlin), 4. Christine Shanahan (Naomh Olaf), 5. Claire Gannon (St Judes), 6. Eve O’Brien (Na Fianna), 7. Hannah O’Dea (Cuala), 8. Leah Butler (St. Judes), 9. Gaby Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 10. Muireann Kelleher (St Vincents), 11. Aisling Maher (St Vincents), 12. Elyse Jamieson-Murphy (Na Fianna), 13. Grace O’Shea (Ballinteer St Johns), 14. Aisling Gannon (St. Judes), 15. Aishling O’Neill (Castleknock).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Eabha Mooney (Castleknock), 17. Aoife Heffernan (St Peregrines), 18. Lauran Robinson (Raheny), 19. Niamh Heffernan (St Peregrines), 20. Niamh Comerford (Kilmacud Crokes), 21. Louise O’Shea (Ballinteer St Johns), 22. Aine Rafter (Ballyboden St. Endas), 23. Emma O’Byrne (Good Council Lifey Gaels), 24. Sinead Murphy (Cuala), 25. Jennifer Moore (Good Council Liffey Gaels), 26. Juliette O’Flynn (Cuala), 27. Aoibhe Dillon (Naomh Mearnóg), 28. Ellen Baker (Castleknock), 29. Orla Grey (Na Fianna), 30. Issy Davis (Kilmacud Crokes), 31. Kate Kilcommins (Ballyhea), 32. Jody Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 33. Ciara Tierney (Na Fianna).