Dublin 2-08 Wexford 2-11

Two late goals from Laura Quinn and Hollyn Kennedy could have given Dublin a lifeline had there been more time on the referee’s watch today in the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick but sadly as the final puck out hit the air, the whistle was blown to end Dublin’s All Ireland run. The young girls in blue never gave up this afternoon and must be given huge credit for the attitude throughout a very tough Semi Final.

At the end of the first quarter Dublin had 0-06 to 0-03 lead, with scores from Laura Quinn, Aoife Mahon (4) and Kim Hickey, but Anais Curren’s goal squared the teams and Wexford would press for the remainder of the half. Two more points from Curren and one from Kate Smith gave Wexford the half time lead with an Aoife Mahon free being Dublin’s only additional score before the break. The Dublin girls will rue a couple of great goal chances missed, that could have had the break showing a totally different scoreline. Dublin 0-07 Wexford 1-06

Kate Kirwan got Wexford off the mark on 6 minutes in the second half, but Dublin continued to battle to narrow the gap. Hollyn Kennedy closed the gap to 0-02 with a beautiful point from play, but the game went into a long spell of defensive play with both sides trying to turn possession in their favour.

The spell ended in the 23rd when Ciara Walsh pointed from play, follows by two more converted frees by Curren. But a five point lead changed quickly to an eight point lead when Kate Smith found the net for Wexford’s second goal of the game past the allotted time in the second half and the good looked like it was done. There couldn’t have been much time left on the referee’s watch.

The deadlock for Dublin eventually broke when Laura Quinn took the first opportunity and raised a flag. But Anais Curren, who scored a total of 1-08 today, frustrated Dublin once again with her last from play. Hollyn Kennedy managed to steal another goal for Dublin but the resulting puck out saw the end to the game and an end of the Dubs All Ireland dream.

Scorers For Dublin:
Hollyn Kennedy 1-02
Laura Quinn 1-01
Aoife Mahon 0-04
Kim Hickey 0-01

Scorers For Wexford:
Anais Curren 1-08
Kate Smith 1-01
Kate Kirwan 0-01
Ciara Walsh 0-01

Dublin Panel:
1 Ali Ramsden
18 Caitlin Coffey
3 Siun Keating
4 Hannah Leddy
5 Jody Couch
6 Molly Brown
7 Celine Atancio
8 Niamh Gannon
9 Aoife Mahon
10 Olivia Meagher
11 Kim Hickey
12 Anna Geraghty
13 Gaby Couch
14 Hollyn Kennedy
15 Laura Quinn
16 Georgia Plowman
17 Siofra Byrne
2 Aoife Byrne
19 Rachel Seery
20 Katie Mc Donald
21 Grainne O’Driscoll
22 Meave Bogan
23 Lauren Robinson
24 Cliodhna Nicoletti
25 Claire Clinton
26 Megan Carroll
27 Ciara Golden

Wexford Panel:
1. Aoife McMahon
2. Tara Doyle
3. Amy Cahill
4. Laura Dorian
5. Amy Mitten
6. Roisin Parker
7. Lorna Fortune
8. Ciara Walsh
9. Kate Kirwan
10. Megan Cullen
11. Ciara O’Connor
12. Amy O’Leary
13. Eimear Byrne
14. Anais Curren
15. Kate Smith
16. Sophie Roche
17. Shauna O’Leary
18. Doireann Curran
19. Aisling Alouf
20. Aoife Dempsey
21. Siobhan Sinnott
22. Emma Dempsey
23. Lauren Murphy
24. Eimear O’Connor
25. Leanne Rowe
26. Molly Somers
27. Amy Cousins
28. Kate Foley
29. Elana Kenny