Dublin Minor Camogie Player in sky blue jersey races away with the ball balancing on her hurl from a Kildare player in a white jersey during Dublin second half scoring blitz

Third Quarter Scoring Blitz Seals Leinster Semi Final Spot For Dublin

Dublin 1-14

Kildare 1-06

After a tight, tense and competitive first half Dublin’s Minor B’s hit Kildare with a second half scoring blitz to comfortably secure their place in the Leinster semi finals.

The opening half was evenly contested between the two teams with game played at a hectic pace despite the very warm conditions.

Dublin grabbed the first score of the day after two minutes with a point from

Megan Thomas. Kildare responded almost immediately with a point from midfielder Sorcha Gillman.

Kildare took the lead for the first and only time in the game when Aoife Fitzgerald swung over a nice point. The lead though only lasted a mere 60 seconds as Erica Tobin finished off a sweeping move with a fine point to bring the sides level.

The game then hit a scoring lull for the next eight minutes thanks to some great defending from both sides and a couple of missed opportunities at either end.

Dublin Minor Camogie Player in a sky blue jersey and sky blue and blue helmet in action against three Kildare players in white jerseys

With seven minutes to go to the break Dublin got the scoreboard ticking over again with two points in as many minutes from Rebecca Cassidy and Cliodhna Nicoletti.

That was the last score of the half from the girls in blue and as the game headed into injury time Kildare cut the deficit to the bare minimum with a point from Caoimhe Maher to leave the score at the break 0-04 to 0-03 in Dublin’s favour.

Two minutes after the resumption the sides were level courtesy of a converted free from Caoimhe Maher.

Dublin broke down the other end and half forward Sadhbh Duffy swung a lovely point over the black spot to give the sky blues the lead again.

It got even better for the Dubs seconds later, they won the puck out, worked the ball out to the left and a cracking shot from Erica Tobin dipped over the Kildare keeper and into to the net and suddenly there was four between the sides.

Kildare’s heads might have dropped but they swept back up the other end and Aoife Fitzgerald finished off the move to the net to leave just a point between them again.

But Dublin took complete control of the game for the final twenty minutes. Three points in as many minutes from Emma Gray, Sadhbh Duffy and Megan Thomas began the scoring blitz and pushed the Dublin lead back out to four.

A Kildare Minor Camogie player in a white jersey and a Dublin player in a sky blue jersey battle for the ball

A point from Emma Kielty for Kildare was quickly wiped out with two points in quick succession from Emma Gray and Cliodhna Nicoletti.

With twelve minutes remaining Kildare cut Dublin’s lead back to four points with a converted free from Caoimhe Maher, it was to be the Lilywhites last score of the game.

Dublin completely dominated possession for the final ten minutes and four unanswered points from Sadhbh Duffy, Rebecca Cassidy with two and Megan Thomas finished off the scoring blitz and pulled Dublin clear to run out worthy eight point winners at the finish.

Next up for Dublin will be a meeting with Kilkenny next weekend in the Leinster Minor B Championship semi finals.

Dublin Scorers:

Erica Tobin 1-01

Sadhbh Duffy 0-03

Megan Thomas 0-03

Rebecca Cassidy 0-03

Cliodhna Nicoletti 0-02

Emma Gray 0-02 (1f)

Kildare Scorers:

Aoife Fitzgerald 1-01

Caoimhe Maher 0-03 (2f)

Sorcha Gillman 0-01

Emma Kielty 0-01

A Dublin Minor Camogie player in sky blue jersey and black helmet and a Kildare player in a white jersey and blue and white helmet tussle for the ball


1. Georgia Ploughman

2. Aoife Byrne

3. Aoife Heffernan

4. Danielle O’Connor

5. Jessica Murphy

6. Lauran Robinson

7. Emma Gray

8. Aine Reilly

9. Cliodhna Nicoletti

10. Chloe O’Connor

11. Sadhbh Duffy

12. Niamh Heffernan

13. Erica Tobin

14. Megan Thomas

15. Rebecca Cassidy

Dublin Substitutes:

16. Ciara Golden for 12. Niamh Heffernan (48th Min)

18. Deirdre McCarthy for 7. Emma Gray (49th Min)

17. Saoirse Fitzgerald for 4. Danielle O’Connor (54th Min)

19. Chloe Murphy for 13. Erica Tobin (55th Min)


17. Aideen Walsh

2. Ruth Millett

3. Sarah Cullen

4. Emily Dunne

5. Aibhe Tyndall

6. Maria Doyle

7. Caoilfhionn Hallsey

8. Sorcha Gillman

9. Caoimhe Shiels

10. Aoife Fitzgerald

11. Emma Kielty

12. Fiona Kyne

13. Ella O’Connor

14. Caoimhe Maher

15. Aoife Synes

Kildare Substitutes:

18. Roisin Maguire for 12. Fiona Kyne (36th Min)

22. Ellen O’Boyle for 6. Maria Doyle (55th Min)

19. Ann Marie Travers for 4. Emily Dunne (58th Min)

20. Sarah Doyle Ryan for 15. Aoife Synes (60th Min)

25. Amy Gallagher for 5. Aibhe Tyndall (61st Min)