Shane Plowman’s Premier Junior panel were foiled again by Westmeath in this afternoon’s League Semi Final

Dublin Premier Junior - Westmeath

Dublin 1-06 Westmeath 3-09
Clane GAA, Kildare

Westmeath advanced to the Littlewoods Division 2 Final today, after a repeat of their win over Dublin’s Premier Junior panel in last year’s All Ireland Final. Dublin will have enjoyed their first year in Division 2 after clinching the Division 3 title last year, despite being disappointed with today’s result. A yellow card either side of half time for Niamh Gleeson saw Dublin reduced to 14 which didn’t help their cause. And neither did three Westmeath penalties.

Mairead McCormack opened the scoring for Westmeath early as they piled a massive amount of pressure on Dublin from the throw in, resulting in Dublin conceding some unwanted frees and penalties, the first of which came in the 4th minute when Ciaran Buchannan brought down Sheila McGrath. Thankfully Kathryn Kantounia was able to stop the conversion by Pamela Greville and Dee Johnstone was there to clear the damage.

Dublin Premier Junior - Westmeath

The relief of the penalty save was short lived as Denise McGrath and Greville added two more scores before Greville rocketed the ball past Kantounia for Westmeath’s first green flag in the twelfth.

At this stage Dublin looked at odds, and things worsened losing their ever present midfielder Roisin Drohan to injury far too early on. Sheila and Denise McGrath, and Hannah Core continued to heap pressure on Dublin’s defence.

Dublin did get a break in play and to the credit of Caragh Dawson, they capitalised as she broke forward at pace and when met by two Westmeath backs, passed a clever ball to Aoife Dooley who clinically finished to give Dublin a much needed goal. Unfortunately for the girls in blue it was to be their only score of the half as Westmeath tacked on three more before the whistle from the two McGraths and Caoimhe McCrossan, a late replacement for Sarah King in the Westmeath back line.

Dublin Premier Junior - Westmeath

Despite having the wind in the second half, Dublin were still struggling to break down Westmeath and the free concessions, which Pamela Greville pounced on at every opportunity. Thankfully Dublin would get the rub of the green on some decisions, and Aoibhe Dillon had converted two of these by the eleventh, only cancelling out Greville and Aoife Boyle’s scores for Westmeath.

Caragh Dawson continued to push hard and got a score of her own, sadly though it was sandwiched between Westmeath second and third goals, scored by Greville and Sheila McGrath.

Dublin Premier Junior - Westmeath

With 10 minutes remaining Dublin were trailing by 0-12, but the introduction of Ciara Carolan and Aoife Molloy would at the very least see Dublin finish strong with both scoring, along with Louise O’Shea. But sixty plus minutes of sheer pressure by the girls from the Lake County had taken it’s toll and done the job, as Westmeath advance to play Cork in the Division 2 Final, and Dublin now start preparations for their provincial and All Ireland Campaigns.

Full time score Dublin 1-06 Westmeath 3-10

Dublin Scorers:
Aoife Dooley 1-00
Aoibhe Dillon 0-02 (2f)
Caragh Dawson 0-01
Aoife Molloy 0-01
Louise O’Shea 0-01
Ciara Carolan 0-01

Westmeath Scorers:
Pamela Greville 2-04 (1-04f)
Sheila McGrath 1-01
Denise McGrath 0-02
Mairead McCormack 0-01
Caoimhe McCrossan 0-01
Aoife Boyle 0-01

1. Kathryn Kantounia
2. Ciara Buchannan
3. Deirdre Johnstone
4. Niamh Gleeson
5. Emma Barron
23. Eimear O’Riordan
7. Sinead Murphy
8. Hannah O’Dea
9. Roisin Drohan
10. Caragh Dawson
11. Aoibhe Dillon
12. Aoife Dooley
13. Emer Keenan
14. Evelyn Twomey
15. Laoise Quinn

Dublin Substitutions
20. Grainne Power for 9. Roisin Drohan (20)
29. Louise O’Shea for 14. Evelyn Twomey (36)
30. Aoife Molloy for 13. Emer Keenan (47)
25. Ciara Carolan for 11. Aoibhe Dillon (50)
19. Nadine Murphy for 15. Laoise Quinn (54)

1. Fiona Keating
19. Caoimhe McCrossan
3. Meabh Scally
4. Laura Dotherty
5. Aoife Higgins
6. Fiona Leavy
7. Amy Cully
8. Sandra McGrath
9. Murieann Scally
10. Mairead McCormack
11. Shelia McGrath
12. Denise McGrath
13. Hannah Core
14. Pamela Greville
25. Aoife Boyle

Westmeath Substitutions
17. Ellie Conway for 11. Shelia McGrath (58)
18. Olivia Glynn for 12. Denise McGrath (62)