Penalty save in dying seconds secured Junior 3 club championship crown for St Brigids

St Brigids celebrate are winning the We Are Dublin GAA/Dublin Camogie Junior 3 title


St. Brigids 2-04

Ballyboden St. Endas 1-04


St Brigids claimed the We Are Dublin GAA/Dublin Camogie Junior 3 club championship title on Sunday in Abbotstown with a penalty save in the dying seconds to securing the win.

Dreadful weather conditions in the Blanchardstown venue did little to dampen down an exciting and evenly contested and competitive Junior 3 final which was in the balance right to the final whistle.

The wet conditions made it difficult for both teams in terms of handling and making passes stick, but that just added to the drama and insured both teams had to dig deep and bring all their battling qualities to the game.

The slippery conditions and with both defences on top, scores were at a premium throughout the game and that insured that the destination for the cup came right down to the wire.

Ballyboden got off to the perfect start in the opening minute with half forward Anne Hogan finding the back of the net in Boden’s first foray forward.

Five minutes later and St Brigids got themselves on the scoreboard with a fine point from Mia Murray.

The St Brigids Camogie Captain raises the Junior 3 cup after her side beat Ballyboden St Endas in the final.

It took another sixteen minutes for the next score in the game a point from Ballyboden’s Sarah Crosbie.

That scoring drought had nothing to do with a lack of effort but was a byproduct of some excellent defensive work from both sides and a number of eye catching saves from both keepers.

As the first half headed into injury time it looked as if Ballyboden would take a three point advantage with them into the break.

But St Brigids had other ideas and a penetrating run from Player of the Match Ellen Gribben opened up the Ballyboden defence and Zoe Mayne was on hand to finish to the net and draw the sides level with the score at the short whistle 1-01 apiece.

Boden dominated the opening ten minutes of the second half and pinned Brigids in their own half. But Ballyboden were unable to turn that phase of possession into scoring opportunities and had to settle with just a single point from Lucia O’Connor.

Ballyboden pushed up high to pressure the ball, but that left them somewhat exposed at the back to a quick counter-attack and that’s exactly how Brigids punished them in the 42nd minute.

A long ball was played into Mia Murray, she collected the pass and turned her marker leaving her one on one with Boden keeper Sarah Reynolds and Murray made no mistake and buried the ball to the net to give St Brigids a two point lead.

Halfway through the second half and substitute Roisín Jelley reduced the deficit to one with an excellent point from play.

A converted free from Mia Murray pushed the Brigids lead back to two and the Russell Park outfit had opportunities to extend the lead further, but three missed efforts in a row kept the game still very much in the balance.

With five minutes of normal time left in the final Ballyboden made it a one point games again with a point from Lucia O’Connor.

But a converted 45’ from Mia Murray and a point from midfielder Ellen Gribben put a goal between the sides with the game in injury time.

And there was late drama as Ballyboden were awarded a penalty in the dying seconds, it looked a very harsh call but it afforded Boden the chance to bring the final to extra time.

Fullback Roisin Keaney strode upfield from her defensive position to take the penalty but her well struck shot was saved on the line and cleared and the final whistle sounded to confirm that St Brigids were 2020 We Are Dublin GAA/Dublin Camogie Junior 3 champions.

St. Brigids Scorers


Mia Murray 1-03 (2f)

Zoe Mayne 1-00

Ellen Gribben 0-01


Ballyboden St. Endas Scorers


Anne Hogan 1-00

Lucia O’Connor 0-02

Sarah Crosbie 0-01

Roisín Jelley 0-01


St. Brigids


16. Dara Loomes

2. Ellie Raftery

3. Hannah Connolly

4. Helen Sweeney

5. Jayne Nyhan

6. Maeve O’Regan

7. Ava Duignan

8. Sarah Nyhan

9. Ellen Gribben

10. Caoimhe O’Reilly

11. Zoe Mayne

12. Amy Powell

13. Emer Timoney

14. Mia Murray

15. Tara Fitzgerald


St. Brigids Substitutions


18. Cara Galvin for 13. Emer Timoney (21)

17. Ava Kiely for 15. Tara Fitzgerald (HT)

20. Sinead Cuggy for 12. Amy Powell (48)

19. Sorcha Power for 10. Caoimhe O’Reilly (62)

21. Kate Elliott for 9. Ellen Gribben (62)

Ballyboden St. Endas


1. Sarah Reynolds

2. Nicola McCarthy

3. Roisin Keaney

4. Ciara Dowling

5. Stephanie Hamm

6. Shauna Walsh

7. Saoirse Fitzgerald

8. Lily Wende-Doyle

9. Ciara Duffy

10. Ciara Woodcock

11. Anne Hogan

12. Elizabeth Manning

23. Hannah Byrne

14. Sarah Crosbie

15. Hannah Tevlin


Ballyboden St. Endas Substitutions


19. Alice Rudden for 5. Stephanie Hamm (HT)

13. Lucia O’Connor for 15. Hannah Tevlin (HT)

20. Roisín Jelley for 14. Sarah Crosbie (41)

16. Sarah Mulvey for 2. Nicola McCarthy (58)

21. Jane Doyle for 12. Elizabeth Manning (62)


Player of the Match: Ellen Gribben (St Brigids)