Dublin Camogie Player Alex Griffin in a sky blue jersey breaks away from an Offaly defender in a green, white and yellow jersey as Dublin’s Leinster heartache continued in their loss to Offaly

The long ten year Leinster heartache continued last Sunday afternoon for the Dublin Senior Camogie Squad, despite a decent start to their championship semi final game Offaly dominated the second half to claim victory.

Dublin started brightly and led by four inside the opening six minutes. An early long range point from Siobhan Kehoe got the ball rolling.

Dublin struck gold in the sixth minute, some great determined work by Alex Griffin to gain possession created the opportunity.

Alex fed the ball to Leah Butler breaking through the centre of the Offaly defence and although Butler’s hand pass to Orla Beagan just outside the square was partially blocked Beagan pulled on the ball on the ground to smash it to the net.

Offaly’s shooting during this period was a little wayward as they hit four wides from very scoreable positions.

Dublin Camogie Player In A Sky Blue Jersey Running with a white ball balancing on a hurl

Siobhan Flannery finally found the range to register Offaly’s first point of the contest. The sides then traded frees , Siobhan Kehoe with her second for Dublin and Patrice Delaney with the Offaly reply.

But Offaly started to get on top as the half entered the final ten minutes and Dublin’s tactic of dropping deep put them on the back foot.

Although Dublin were putting in the hard work and getting plenty of blocks and hooks in, Grainne Quinn playing at full forward got completely isolated and outnumbered and Dublin had no out ball.

Offaly reduced the deficit to a single point with scores from Arlene Watkins and Debbie Flynn, but Dublin pushed two ahead again and were then awarded a free in first half stoppage time which Orla Beegan dispatched to give the girls in blue a three point interval lead with the score 1-05 to 0-05.

Offaly came out with renewed vigour in the second half and completely dominated the majority of the second period.

Dublin Player In a Sky Blue Jersey running away from an Offaly Player In a green, white and yellow jersey bouncing a white ball on a hurl

Seven minutes after the restart the sides were level courtesy of two Siobhan Flannery points and one from Debbie Flynn.

Dublin fought back and points from Emma Flanagan and Alex Griffin pushed the metropolitans two in front again.

Offaly should have been reduced to 14 players for one of the most blatant off the ball fouls that will be seen this season.

Under instruction from the sideline which was clearly acknowledged by the player in question Michaela Morkan, who had been kept quite to that point by Dublin’s Miriam Twomey, Morkan proceeded to strike the Naomh Mearnóg player with her hurl across the chest.

The the force of the strike could be heard ringing around Parnells GAA club, but the officials did their best impression of Mizaru, Kikazaru and Iwazaru, the famous three Japanese monkeys, “see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil” and Morkan received no more than a warning from the referee.

It got worse for Dublin minutes later when a speculative long range free from Siobhan Flannery somehow found its way to the back of the net to put Offaly in front for the first time in the game and it was a lead they never relinquished it.

Dublin Player In Sky Blue Jersey and red helmet hitting a white ball with a hurl

Offaly drove for home and points from Flannery with two and a one apiece from Linda Sullivan, Grainne Dolan, Grainne Egan opened up a six point lead.

Dublin desperately needed a couple of goals just to draw level and in the final minute of normal time were awarded a penalty for a foul on Siobhan Kehoe.

Up stepped Orla Beagan and despite three Offaly players on the goal line smashed the ball to the back of the net to half the deficit.

But unfortunately time ran out for David Herity’s side and the Leinster heartache continues for Dublin and the long wait for Leinster silverware goes on.


Dublin Scorers:


Orla Beagan 2-04

Siobhan Kehoe 0-02 (2f)

Emma Flanagan 0-01

Alex Griffin 0-01


Offaly Scorers:


Siobhan Flannery 1-06 (1-5f)

Debbie Flynn 0-02

Arlene Watkins 0-01

Michaela Morkan 0-01

Grainne Egan 0-01

Patrice Delaney 0-01 (1f)

Linda Sullivan 0-01

Grainne Dolan 0-01


Dublin Panel:


1. Sile Nic Coitir

Ballyboden St Endas


2. Martha O’Donoghue

Ballyboden St Endas


3. Aisling Carolan

St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh


4. Emma O’Byrne

Good Counsel


5. Hannah Hegarty

Naomh Jude


6. Laura Twomey

Naomh Mearnóg


7. Miriam Twomey

Naomh Mearnóg


8. Leah Butler

Naomh Jude


9. Eimear McCarthy

Naomh Uinsionn


10. Alex Griffin

Na Fianna


11. Grainne Quinn

Naomh Uinsionn


12. Siobhan Kehoe

Naomh Fionnbarra


13. Emma Flanagan

Lucan Sarsfields


14. Doireann Mullany

Ballyboden St Endas


15. Orla Beagan

Lucan Sarsfields


16. Faye McCarthy

Naomh Jude


17. Arlene Cushen

Na Fianna


18. Catherine Costello

Faughs Celtic


19. Niamh Rock

Na Fianna


20. Mairi Moynihan

Lucan Sarsfields


21. Roisin Baker

Na Fianna


22. Ali Twomey

Lucan Sarsfields


23. Ali Maguire

Naomh Uinsionn


24. Zoe O’Donoghue

Na Fianna


25. Eve O’Brien

Na Fianna.


Offaly Panel:


1. Eleanor Clendennen



2. Fiona Stephens



3. Ann Marie Guinan



4. Sarah Walsh



5. Grace Teehan

Naomh Bríd


6. Roisin Egan

St Rynaghs


7. Triona McDonald



8. Orlaigh Kirwan



9. Arlene Watkins



11. Sarah Harding



12. Michaela Morkan



13. Grainne Egan



14. Patrice Delaney



15. Linda Sullivan

St Rynaghs


16. Ellen Gilligan

St Rynaghs


17. Grainne Dolan

St Rynaghs


18. Deirdre Cashen



19. Jean Brady

St Sinchills


20. Mairead Jennings



21. Gillian Irwin



22. Alanna Roddy



23. Siobhan FIannery

St Rynaghs


24. Louise Savage



25. Una Kilmartin



26. Eadaoin Kilmartin



27. Orla Gorman