Squad photo of the Dublin Senior Camogie Squad in sky blue jerseys and navy skorts ahead of their All Ireland Quarter Final which they lost to Galway
Dublin Senior Camogie Squad Pose For Squad Photo Ahead Of Their Liberty Insurance All Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Quarter Final (Image Credit: We Are Dublin GAA)


Dublin Have No Answers To Galway Power Scoring In Quarter Final


By Daragh Ó Conchúir in Páirc Uí Chaoimh


Galway    0-20

Dublin     0-04


Galway are back in the last four of the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship after a comfortable success over Dublin in this evenings quarter final.

Having narrowly failed to defeat subsequent champions Cork at the penultimate stage last year, they will now take on Kilkenny, who they have already lost to in this course of this campaign in the round-robin stages.

Cork will take on the winners of the first Quarter-Final Tipperary in a repeat of the Munster Final which was won by the Leesiders.

Both those games will take place in Semple Stadium on August 18th.

In this game, Dublin could not match their Quarter-Final heroics of last year, as their opponents put in a thoroughly professional performance to advance.

There were no real fireworks in the opening period and though Dublin had plenty of possession, it was Galway that possessed the greater thrust.

Dublin’s attacks floundered on the Galway full-back line, spearheaded as usually by captain Sarah Dervan at full-back.

It wasn’t straightforward for the Tribeswomen but Aoife Donohue and Catriona Cormican slotted a brace of good points each, while Carrie Dolan slotted three frees.


A Galway camogie player in a white jersey, maroon skort and dark blue helmet breaks away with the ball on her hurl from a dublin player in sky blue jersey, navy skort and white helmet
Galway’s Niamh Kilkenny Breaks Free From Dublin’s Alex Griffin In The Liberty Insurance All Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Quarter Final (Image Credit: We Are Dublin GAA)


Galway Defence Stifled Dublin’s Bid To Make Early Ground In Quarter Final


In stark contrast, Dublin only managed a couple of points, both from Orla Beagan frees and it was 0-07 to 0-02 at the interval.

The Blues needed a strong start but Galway had numbers back in defence to stifle any bid to make ground.

They only conceded another two points and though they themselves found it difficult to carve out goal opportunities, were unerring from further out to send a message that denying them the green flags they are noted for may not necessarily be enough to neutralise them.

Niamh Kilkenny, Donohue, Cormican and Niamh McGrath all struck eye-catching scores, with one in particular from Kilkenny a stupendous effort on the run having beaten off a couple of attempted challenges.

That move was started on the edge of her own parallelogram by Tara Kenny, who denied Siobhán Kehoe a shot at goal.

Cathal Murray introduced a number of subs late on and they too looked to make their points quite literally, Cliodhna Walsh, Finola Keely and Siobhán McGrath finding the target.

That all helped to rack up the type of score that will certainly make Kilkenny sit up and take notice.


Dublin Scorers:


Orla Beagan 0-03 (2f)

Alex Griffin 0-01


Galway Scorers:


Carrie Doran 0-04 (4f)

Aoife Donohue 0-04

Catriona Cormican 0-03

Niamh McGrath 0-03 (1f)

Niamh Kilkenny 0-02

Sarah Healy 0-01 (1f)

Finola Keely 0-01

Siobhan McGrath 0-01

Cliodhna Walsh 0-01


Dublin Team:


1. Faye McCarthy
2. Niamh Gannon
3. Aisling Carolan
4. Martha O’Donoghue
5. Hannah Hegarty
6. Laura Twomey
7. Roisin Baker
8. Orla Beagan
9. Eimear McCarthy
10. Ali Twomey
11. Alex Griffin
12. Doireann Mulanny
13. Siobhan Kehoe
14. Mairi Moynihan
15. Emma Flanagan


Dublin Substitutions:


23. Leah Butler for 15. Emma Flanagan (28th Min)
16. Síle Níc Coitir for 14. Mairi Moynihan (40th Min)
22. Grainne Quinn for 10. Ali Twomey (47th Min)
18. Ali Maguire for 13. Siobhan Kehoe (55th Min)


Galway Team:


1. Sarah Healy
2. Shauna Healy
3. Sarah Dervan
4. Tara Kenny
18. Emma Helebert
6. Heather Cooney
7. Lorraine Ryan
8. Ann Marie Starr
9. Niamh Kilkenny
10. Aoife Donohue
11. Caitriona Cormican
19. Niamh McGrath
13. Carrie Dolan
21. Noreen Coen
15. Ailish O’Reilly


Galway Substitutions:


24. Siobhan McGrath for 15. Aisling O’Reilly (38th Min)
5. Roisín Black for 18. Emma Helebert (45th Min)
22. Cliodhna Walsh for 13. Carrie Dolan (46th Min)

23. Ciara Murphy for 7. Lorraine Ryan (54th Min)

20. Finola Keely for 11. Catriona Cormican (54th Min)


Referee: Liz Dempsey (Kilkenny)