Five Changes To Senior Dublin Camogie Team For League Encounter Against Tipperary


It’s vital for the Senior Dublin Camogie team to get something from the game to avoid being dragged into a relegation dog fight

Senior Dublin Camogie player in action against Cork last weekend
Image Credit:

The Senior Dublin Camogie team has been named for tomorrow’s league encounter with Tipperary in Parnell Park at 2pm.

After last weeks heavy defeat to Cork Dublin manager Gerry McQuaid has made five changes to his starting lineup as the Sky Blues look to secure their first league points of the year.

Mari Moynihan replaces Eabha Mooney in goal, Christine Shannahan who was introduced from bench in the first half against Cork starts against Tipperary in place of Emma O’Byrne, Leah Butler comes into the half-back line for Hannah O’Dea, Niamh Gannon replaces Sinead Murphy in the Dublin midfield and Kerri Finnegan starts in the half-forward line replacing Aisling Gannon.

It may only be the second round of the league but Dublin need something from the game to avoid being dragged into a relegation dog fight like they found themselves in two seasons ago.

That won’t be easy against a Tipperary side who enjoyed a 4-09 to 1-09 win over defending league champions Galway last weekend and will arrive in the Capital brimming with confidence.

Tactically Dublin will need to be more of a scoring threat against Tipp than they were last weekend against Cork. The isolating of Aisling Maher up front on her own didn’t pay off as she found herself starved of the ball and outnumbered.

As good as Maher is she needs support up front from the likes of Aisling O’Neill who was played far too deep last week.

The half-forward line is bolstered this week with the introduction of Kerri Finnegan who was unavailable for the Cork fixture and her aerial ability and ball carrying skills should provide Dublin with an increased scoring threat.

Tickets for tomorrow’s game are still on sale and can be purchased at the following link:

Dublin: 1. Mari Moynihan (Lucan Sarsfields), 2. Abby Ryan (Crumlin), 3. Eve O’Brien (Na Fianna), 4. Christine Shanahan (Naomh Olaf), 5. Kate Kilcommins (Ballyhea), 6. Clare Gannon (Naomh Jude), 7. Leah Butler (Naomh Jude), 8. Elyse Jamieson Murphy (Na Fianna), 9. Niamh Gannon (Naomh Jude), 10. Kerrie Finnegan (Faughs Celtic), 11. Gaby Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 12. Grace O’Shea (Ballinteer St Johns), 13. Aisling O Neill (Castleknock), 14. Muireann Kelleher (St Vincents), 15. Aisling Maher (St Vincents)

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Ciara Tierney (Na Fianna), 17. Zoe Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 18. Aoife Heffernan (Naomh Peregrine), 19. Hannah O’Dea (Cuala), 20. Ellen Baker (Castleknock), 21. Aisling Gannon (Naomh Jude), 22. Gaby Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh) 23. Aoife Whelan (Castleknock), 24. Eabha Mooney (Castleknock), 25. Orla Gray (Na Fianna), 26. Juliette O’Flynn (Cuala), 27. Alex Buckley (Skerries Harps), 28. Sinead Murphy (Cuala).