Five Changes For Dublin’s must win Camogie League Game Against Clare


Anything less than an eight point victory in their Camogie League game against Clare will see Dublin relegated from Division 1A

Dublin captain Aisling Maher taking a free during a Camogie League Game

The Dublin Senior team has been announced for their Very National Camogie League game against Clare in Cusack Park on Sunday.

Dublin management have made five changes to the side that lost to Galway the last day out with Mairi Moynihan, Hannah O’Dea, Kerrie Finnigan, Niamh Comerford and Grace O’Shea coming into the side in place of Eabha Mooney, Ellen Baker, Aishling Gannon, Aoibhe Dillon and Emma Gray.

It’s been a poor league campaign for Dublin who have lost all of their previous four games and are now facing the very real prospect of relegation from Division 1A.

The scenario is simple for the Dubs, they have to not only win their Camogie League game out West against Clare, but must win by a minimum margin of eight points to avoid the drop.

Clare began their league campaign with a surprise win over Kilkenny, but they failed to build on that good start and lost their next three games. Clare will avoid the drop if they either beat or draw against Dublin or lose by less than an eight point margin.

So it’s all to play for, for both teams on Sunday in Cusack Park in Ennis with the action getting underway at 12pm.

Dublin Senior Team: 1. Mairi Moynihan (Lucan Sarsfields), 2. Abbey Ryan (Crumlin), 3. Eve O’Brien (Na Fianna), 4. Christine Shanahan (Naomh Olaf), 5. Claire Gannon (St Judes), 6. Leah Butler (St Judes), 7. Hannah O’Dea (Cuala), 8. Gaby Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 9. Muirinn Kelleher (St Vincents), 10. Kerrie Finnigan (Faughs Celtic), 11. Grace O’Shea (Ballinteer St Johns) 12. Elyse Jamieson Murphy (Na Fianna), 13. Aishling O’Neill (Castleknock), 14. Aisling Maher (C) (St Vincents), 15. Niamh Comerford (Kilmacud Crokes).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Eabha Mooney (Castleknock), 17. Aishling Gannon (St. Judes), 18. Aoife Heffernan (St Peregrines), 19. Ellen Baker (Castleknock), 20. Jennifer Moore (Good Counsel Liffey Gaels), 21. Sinead Murphy (Cuala), 22. Juliette O’Flynn (Cuala), 23. Kate Kilcommins (Ballyhea, Cork), 24. Zoe Couch (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), 25. Louise O’Shea (Ballinteer St Johns), 26. Orla Gray (Na Fianna), 27. Aine Rafter (Ballyboden St Endas), 28. Niamh Heffernan (St Peregrines), 29. Aoibhe Dillon (Naomh Mearnóg).