A Player Of The Match Performance From Éile O’Ceallaigh Steered Whitehall Colmcille To Minor C Title

Whitehall Colmcille Camogie team pictured with the cup after winning the Dublin Camogie Minor C final

Whitehall Colmcille 3-08

Naomh Maur 1-09

Whitehall Colmcille claimed the Dublin Camogie Minor C Club Championship title after a keenly contested final this afternoon in a bitterly cold Abbotstown.

Their opponents Naomh Maur played their part in a highly competitive contest that provided plenty of thrills and excitement for the spectators in attendance.

In the end it was Colmcille’s greater firepower which was the deciding factor in the destination of the title. Éile O’Ceallaigh led the way for Whitehall finishing as her sides top scorer on the day with 1-02 in a Player of the Match display.

Colmcille got off to the perfect start with a quick fire 1-01 inside the opening two minutes of the game. An Ailbhe Noonan free was immediately followed with a well taken goal from Abbie McDonald.

Naomh Maur though quickly settled into their stride and hit three points on the bounce, one each from play by Aoife Brady and Grace Codd and a converted free from the Megan Benson who impressed throughout for the side from Rush.

Both sides were now going toe to toe and there was nothing to choose between the sides, they exchanged a pair of points each as the game swept from one end of the pitch to the other.

Éile O’Ceallaigh (Left) laughing with one of her Whitehall Colmcille teammates, Éile won the Player of the Match award in her sides win in the Dublin Camogie Minor C Final

Whitehall Colmcillie’s Éile O’Ceallaigh swung over two fine points and the Maurs response either side came from Megan Benson from a free and an excellent long range effort from Aisling McCormack to leave a point between the teams.

As the clock ticked down to the halftime break it looked like Whitehall had taken control of the final. A point from Isabelle McGarry was followed by a cool finish to the net by Ciara Power to put Colmcille five points up with just three minutes of normal time left in the half.

But Naomh Maur struck back in emphatic fashion with three points in a row, two from Megan Benson (one from play and one from a free) and a point from Aoife Brady to reduce the deficit to just two points with the score at halftime 2-04 to 0-08.

The second half was a battle from the off, it took six second half minutes for the first score of the second period and it came from the ever accurate hurl of Megan Benson who converted her fourth free of the game to leave just the bare minimum between the sides.

But a scoring blitz from Whitehall Colmcille between the 45th and 48th minute which yielded 1-03 all but wrapped up the game.

Isabelle McGarry started the scoring spree with a well struck point. Colmcille won the subsequent puck-out and Éile O’Ceallaigh was on the end of the move to finish to the net. Now on top Whitehall pinned Naomh Maur in their own half and Sarah Quinn and Isabelle McGarry added further points to push the lead out to seven with twelve minutes left in the game.

Naomh Maur kept going and created a couple of half chances in front of goal, but some good defending and goalkeeping from Colmcille kept their lead intact.

Whitehall stretched their lead to eight with a point from Ailbhe Noonan free with just a minute left in the final. Naomh Maur refused to throw in the towel and in injury time their spirit and endeavour was rewarded with a goal by Hazel Austin but it was too little too late and Whitehall Colmcille deservedly claimed the Dublin Camogie Minor C title.

Whitehall Colmcille Scorers:

6. Éile O’Ceallaigh 1-02

13. Abbie McDonald 1-00

7. Ciara Power 1-00

21. Isabelle McGarry 0-03

9. Ailbhe Moonan 0-02 (2f)

16. Sarah Quinn 0-01

Naomh Maur Scorers:

9. Megan Benson 0-05 (4f)

8. Hazel Austin 1-00

4. Aoife Brady 0-02

24. Grace Codd 0-01

6. Aisling McCormack 0-01

Whitehall Colmcille

1. Amy Brady

20. Caitriona McMahon

3. Rachel Fitzsimons

4. Jane Gerrard

5. Ruth Connolly

6. Éile O’Ceallaigh

7. Ciara Power

8. Rachel Dobbs

9. Ailbhe Noonan

21. Isabelle McGarry

11. Aishling Cullen

12. Cuilleann McHugh

13. Abbie McDonald

14. Aoife Noonan

16. Sarah Quinn

Whitehall Colmcille Substitutions:

22. Helen Meehan for McHugh (25)

2. Katie O’Rourke for Power (44)

17. Claire Rigney for McDonald (56)

Naomh Maur

1. Maeve Bogan

20. Alex Cameron

3. Anna Hoare

4. Aoife Brady

5. Emma Hoey

6. Aisling McCormack

19. Grace Finnegan

8. Hazel Austin

9. Megan Benson

24. Grace Codd

11. Evanna Niall

12. Sophie O’Hara

26. Hannah Morley

14. Erin O’Brien

15. Sadhbh Mackey

Naomh Maur Substitutions:

17. Sarah Hegarty for O’Brien (HT)

10. Ella Clarke for Finnegan (58)