Dublin 2-10 Tipperary 2-11

David Herity’s Dublin Senior Camogie panel put in a serious shift this afternoon in their Littlewoods National Camogie League fixture against Tipperary in St. Pat’s College Drumcondra.

Undoubtedly their best performance of the year it was heartache for the Dubs at the end as Tipperary’s Miriam Campion stole a victory for her side in additional time.

Despite a very late change in venue neither side seemed effected and from throw in you could sense this was going to be a real contest. The attack from both ends was strong and both defences were put to the test early on. 

With normal free taker Ali Maguire on the substitutes bench today, Aisling Maher took over the free taking duties and opened Dublin’s account following two Tipperary points from Orla O’Dwyer and Cáit Devane. Ali Twomey answered a Nicole Walsh score with a superb point from a tight angle to keep Dublin within touching distance.

Campion and Devane were on the board again but Aisling Maher came to Dublin’s aid with another pointed free. And Luck was in Dublin’s favour after another Devane score for Tipp.

A free deep in the Dublin half was sent in by keeper Faye McCarthy. The accuracy was spot on from the distance, and fortunately the sliotar dropped just below the crossbar raising a green flag for Dublin levelling to score at 1-03 to 0-06.

Siobhan Kehoe and Aisling Maher finished the half with two more from play for Dublin and they headed into the break ahead by two with the score 1-05 to 0-06.

Tipperary drew first blood in the second half as Nicole Walsh got a quick score right off the throw in. Siobhan Kehoe, who was immense this afternoon, sent another score over. But Tipp hit 1-02 in a three minute spell with midfielder Mary Ryan hand passsing the ball past McCarthy into the Dublin net and suddenly the girls from the Premier County were three up and starting to drive forward.

But Dublin simply wouldn’t go away and matched their opponents score for score with Siobhan Kehoe and Ali Twomey again finding the sweet spot.

But just as the game hit the last quarter Tipp broke and a quick pass to Miriam Campion gave her room to drive their second goal home and open the gap to five points. 

The introduction of Ali Maguire from the sideline just before the Tipp goal was an inspired  move as Dublin were able to target her height and it payed dividends as she managed to sneak the ball into the net for a goal with nine minutes remaining, and followed it up with a pointed free. Dublin were now back to within one score of the visitors.

Doireann Mullany who had come on with seven minutes remaining made her self known and with less than two minutes to go had drawn the game level with a wonderful score. But sadly it was Tipp goal scorer Miriam Campion who had the last word sending the final point over the bar and grabbing the win for the premier county.

Dublin travel to Wexford for their final round game but will come away today knowing that this performance was long overdue. And no doubt they can’t wait for their final game in a couple of weeks time.

Dublin Scorers:
Ali Maguire 1-01 (1f)
Ailsing Maher 0-03 (2f)
Faye McCarthy 1-00 (f)
Siobhan Kehoe 0-03
Ali Twomey 0-02
Doireann Mullany 0-01

Tipperary Scorers:
Miriam Campion 1-02
Nicole Walsh 0-04 (2f)
Mary Ryan 1-00
Cáit Devane 0-03
Orla O’Dwyer 0-02

1. Faye McCarthy
2. Arleen Cushen
3. Grainne Quinn
4. Aine Woods
5. Hannah Hegarty
6. Aisling Carolan
7. Eve O’Brien
8. Eimear McCarthy
9. Miriam Twomey
10. Ellen McGovern
11. Alex Griffin
12. Siobhan Kehoe
13. Claire Donnelly
14. Aisling Maher
15. Ali Twomey

20. Ali Maguire for 11. Alex Griffin
19. Emma Flanagan for 14. Aisling Maher
18. Doireann Mullany for 10. Ellen McGovern

1. Sabrina Larkin
2. Julie Ann Bourke
4. Gemma Grace
21. Laura Loughnane
23. Caoimhe Maher
6. Teresa Ryan
7. Aoife McGrath
9. Ereena Fryday
10. Orla O Dwyer
12. Nicole Walsh
11. Mairead Teehan
13. Keely Lenihan
19. Cáit Devane
26. Jenny Grace Burgess
15. Miriam Campion

14. Megan Ryan for 10. Orla O’Dwyer
8. Mary Ryan for 13. Keely Lenihan
17. Grace O’Brien for 26. Jenny Grace Burgess
22. Andrea Loughnane for 11. Mairead Teehan