Dublin 2-05
Westmeath 5-11

Dublin’s U16B Camogie squad bowed out of this year championship this afternoon in O’Toole Park after a galant effort against a very strong Westmeath side.

Dublin started the game well and the sides were tied on two points apiece after the opening ten minutes, with the points for Dublin coming from Karen Murphy and Hollyn Kennedy and the Westmeath replies from Ciara O’Looney and Megan Dowdall.

But Dublin failed to score for the rest of the half and Westmeath went on a scoring spree hitting an unanswered 4-07. The Westmeath goal scorers were Megan McDowdall with three and the other goal was scored by Sinead Murtagh.

That left Dublin 19 points adrift at the break and a mountain to climb in the second half. But the girls in blue gave it a galant effort and held Westmeath to just three scores in the second period.

Three minutes into the second half and a goal from Hollyn Kennedy raised a big cheer from the supporters in attendance. Westmeath responded with a Ciara O’Looney free but Dublin were dictating the play at this stage.

They made that dominance count with three points in a row scored by Sinead Stack, Emma Gray from a 45 and Caragh Downey. Some good Westmeath defending and a couple of excellent saves from the midlanders keeper kept Dublin from adding to their goal tally.

And in a three minute spell Westmeath punished Dublin with a clinical 1-01, the point came from a Ciara Looney free and the goal came from Laura Kilcoyne.

But in fairness the Dubs never let the heads dropped and put the Westmeath defence under severe pressure for the remainder of the game. They got their just rewards in the closing minute when Westmeath’s Chloe Flood struck the ball into her own net and moments later the full time whistle blew with Westmeath running out deserving winners.

Dublin Scorers:

15. Hollyn Kennedy 1-01
11. Karen Murphy 0-01 (1f)
13. Sinead Stack 0-01
7. Emma Gray 0-01 (1f)
9. Caragh Downey 0-01

3. Chloe Flood (WM) 1-00 (Own Goal)

Westmeath Scorers:

11. Megan Dowdall 3-01
9. Ciara O’Looney 0-07 (6f)
12. Laura Kilcoyne 1-01
13. Sinead Murtagh 1-00
20. Hannah Core 0-01
Meadbh Scally 0-01