Dublin 1-09
Kerry 0-09

This clash between the group’s top two teams was a well-contested game with both sides giving fine displays of the skills of the game in the glorious sunshine at the Institute of Technology, Blanchardstown on Sunday afternoon.

The hooking, blocking and relentless pressure applied when players were on the ball ensured that scores would be hard to come by.

Dublin started the better and had 2 early points on the board courtesy of corner forwards Laoise Quinn and Emer Keenan before Kerry registered their first score – a point from star forward Patrice Diggin who went on to score all of Kerry’s scores.

Both corner forwards each added a point to give Dublin a four point to one lead with 10 minutes of the half remaining.

Dublin midfielders Grainne Power and Roisin Drohan together with the half backs were winning good possession but the Kerry backs defended resolutely preventing the inside forwards from adding to the score.

Kerry added two more points, frees from Patrice Diggin before the end of the half. But sandwiched between these twi scores was a Dublin goal, the game’s turning point.

A tentative shot goalwards from full forward, Aoife Bugler was misjudged by the otherwise reliable Kerry keeper Michelle O’Carroll and the sliotar ended up in the net. The score at half time, Dublin 1-04, Kerry 0-03.

Kerry started the second half very well having their best spell of the game. They ran at the Dublin defence every chance they got and were rewarded with three early pointed frees, one a brilliant effort from the half way line.

Dublin replied with the score of the game, a brilliant individual point from play from Caragh Dawson out on the right wing. Kerry forwards continued to draw frees two of which were converted to leave the scores level 1-05 to 0-08 half way through the second period.

Unfortunately for Kerry centre back Sarah Murphy was sent off as a result of two yellow cards. Dublin now piled on the pressure with Laoise Quinn sending over three points to give them a three point lead going into the last five minutes.

To their credit Kerry fought bravely but missed a few frees at this vital stage. Top scorers on both teams each added a further point to leave the final score, 1-09 to 0-09 in Dublin’s favour to leave Shane Plowman team unbeaten and top of the group.

Both Dublin and Kerry are through to the semi-finals with the possibility of both teams meeting again in the Final in a few weeks.

Dublin Scorers:

Laoise Quinn 0-06 (4f, 1’45)
Aoife Bugler 1-00
Emer Keenan 0-02
Caragh Dawson 0-01

Kerry Scorers:

Patrice Diggin 0-09 (9f)

Dublin Team:

1. Aisling Spillane
2. Ciara Buchanan
3. Laura Walsh Naomh
4. Róisín McLoughlin
5. Gráinne Free
6. Deirdre Johnstone
7. Eimear O’Riordan
8. Grainne Power
9. Róisín Drohan
10. Sinéad Nolan
11. Roisin Baker
12. Caragh Dawson
13. Emer Keenan
14. Aoife Bugler
15. Laoise Quinn

Dublin Panel:

16. Chleo Ní Cheallaigh
17. Aoife Dooley
18. Aoife Walsh
19. Emma Barron
20. Kate Mulvey
21. Emma Young
22. Nadine Murphy
23. Emma O’Flynn
24. Caoimhe Ní Mhaolagáin
25. Ciara Carolan

Kerry Team:

1. Michelle O’Carroll
2. Michelle Costello
3. Niamh Leen
4. Liz Houlihan
5. Orla Young
6. Sara Murphy
7. Elaine Ryall
8. Aoife Behan
9. Olivia Dineen
10. Jackie Horgan
11. Patrice Diggin
12. Julianne O’Keeffe
13. Alannah Whelan
14. Anne Marie Leen
15. Jessica Fitzell

Kerry Panel:

16. Aine O’Connor
17. Treise Moran
18. Megan Weir
19. Laura Collins
20. Alanna Maunsell
21. Rachel McCarthy
22. Clodagh Walsh
23. Norette Casey
24. Eilish Harrington
25. Andrea Hanly
26. Mairead Fitzgerald
27. Naimh Rid
28. Sadhbhe Horgan
29. Nessa McGarty

Referee: Liz Dempsey (Kilkenny)