Dublin U16’s One Step Away From All Ireland Championship Shield Final


Clare stand in the way of Dublin and a place in the All Ireland Championship Shield Final

The Dublin U16A Camogie squad who face Clare in the All Ireland Championship Shield Semi Final tomorrow.

A big Saturday afternoon is in store for the Dublin U16A Camogie squad who are just sixty odd minutes away from the All Ireland Championship Shield Final

Dublin travel to Mallow tomorrow afternoon for a 2pm showdown with Clare in the All Ireland Championship Shield semi-final.

The young Dubs finished the group stages strongly with hard fought wins over Laois by 3-07 to 2-08 and Offaly by 3-12 to 3-11 to finish third in the table and secure a place in the semi-finals.

Clare and Dublin finished on nine points with the girls from the Banner county securing second place on score difference.

Both sides met in the opening round of group games in Fr McNamara Park back in early May with coming out on top that day on a scoreline of 2-09 to 1-08.

Another tight encounter is expected between the teams tomorrow afternoon, both defences will be tested tomorrow as both sides are adept at finding the back of the net and the result may just come down to which defence performs best on the day.

If this one is still in th melting pot in the final minutes Dublin have shown in recent weeks they have the character and nerve to get over the line, they made need that again to make the final in Nowlan Park on the 29th of July.

Dublin U16A Panel: 1. Molly Crowter (Commercials), 2. Ella Walsh (Naomh Barrog), 3. Éile Caffrey (Naomh Jude), 4. Nessa Bolger (Kilmacud Crokes), 5. Meabh Bolger (Kilmacud Crokes), 6. Katie Hayes (Cuala), 7. Aoife Kane (Clontarf), 8. Chloe O’Shea (Lucan Sarsfields), 9. Orla Keighran (Naomh Jude), 10. Charlie Murphy (Ballyboden St Endas), 11. Éabha Gannon (Kilmacud Crokes), 12. Mae Duignan (St Brigids), 13. Katie Byrne (Ballinteer St Johns), 14. Gemma Connolly (Fingallians), 15. Ciara Kelleher (Ballinteer St Johns), 16. Niadh Mooney (C) (Naomh Peregrine), 17. Sophie Dempsey (Naomh Olaf), 18. Davina Strumble (Commercials), 19. Emma O’Donnell (Kilmacud Crokes), 20. Abbie Kenny (Cuala), 21. Sinead Kelly (Kilmacud Crokes), 22. Madeline Roe (Na Fianna), 23. Beth Maguire (Naomh Barrog), 24. Rachel Peters (Kilmacud Crokes), 25. Susie Dalton (Naomh Olaf), 26. Charlene Sone Lenou (Naomh Olaf), 27. Seodhna Ni Riain (Naomh Olaf), 28. Lauren O’Hara (Naomh Bríd), 29. Robyn Graham (Saint Pats), 30. Lauren Haugh (Saint Pats), 31. Éadaoin Sheehy (Commercials), 32. Ailbhe Ní Ghairbhí (Kilmacud Crokes), 33. Ruth Cosgrave (St Vincents), 34. Rachel Johnson (Lucan Sarsfields), 35. Sadhbh Ní Bhuachalla (Lucan Sarsfields), 36. Jess Hughes (Ballyboden St Endas).