Dublin U16A Team Named To Face Laois In Shield All Ireland Championship Fixture


Dublin need win over Laois to propel themselves up the Shield All Ireland Championship Table

A hurl with We Are Dublin on it leaning against a tree to symbolise the Dublin team announcement for their Shield All Ireland game against Laois

Dublin manager Rachel Rogers has named her Dublin U16A side to face Laois in the Shield All Ireland Championship on Sunday in Abbotstown at 2pm.

The young Dubs currently sit bottom of the table on three points from their three championship games to date. They are tied level with the three teams above them, Waterford, Clare and Sundays opponents Laois but sit at the foot of the table based on an inferior score difference than the sides above them.

Considering the other fixtures taking place on Sunday, a win for Dublin would see them move up the table to possibly third place with one round of group games to go next weekend with the Dubs traveling to face Offaly who are currently in second place ahead of this weekends fixtures.

Based on the last meeting between the teams in the Leinster U16A Shield final which the Dubs won by a single point with the final score 2-07 to 1-09, it should be another very tight affair between the sides on Sunday.

Dublin U16A: 1. Molly Crowter (Commercials), 2. Ella Walsh (Naomh Barrog), 3. Éile Caffrey (Naomh Jude), 4. Nessa Bolger (Kilmacud Crokes), 5. Meabh Bolger (Kilmacud Crokes), 6. Emma O’Donnell (Kilmacud Crokes), 7. Aoife Kane (Clontarf), 8. Chloe O’Shea (Lucan Sarsfields), 9. Éabha Gannon (Kilmacud Crokes), 10. Charlie Murphy (Ballyboden St Endas), 11. Orla Keighran (Naomh Jude), 12. Katie Hayes (Cuala), 13. Gemma Connolly (Fingallians), 14. Sophie Dempsey (Naomh Olaf), 15. Ciara Kelleher (Ballinteer St Johns).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Niadh Mooney (C) (Naomh Peregrine), 17. Mae Duignan (St Brigids), 18. Davina Strumble (Commercials), 19. Katie Byrne (Ballinteer St Johns), 20. Éadaoin Sheehy (Commercials), 21. Sinead Kelly (Kilmacud Crokes), 22. Ruth Cosgrave (St Vincents), 23. Madeline Roe (Na Fianna), 24. Ailbhe Ní Ghairbhí (Kilmacud Crokes), 25. Beth Maguire (Naomh Barrog), 26. Rachel Peters (Kilmacud Crokes), 27. Susie Dalton (Naomh Olaf), 28. Charlene Sone Lenou (Naomh Olaf), 29. Seodhna Ni Riain (Naomh Olaf), 30. Lauren O’Hara (Naomh Bríd), 31. Robyn Graham (Saint Pats), 32. Abbie Kenny (Cuala), 33. Lauren Haugh (Saint Pats), 34. Rachel Johnson (Lucan Sarsfields), 35. Sadhbh Ní Bhuachalla (Lucan Sarsfields), 36. Jess Hughes (Ballyboden St Endas).

Laois U16A: 1. Grace Foxe (St Lazarians), 2. Jessica Keegan (St Brigids), 3. Julie Ann Bennett (O’Moores), 4. Chloe Troy Clonad (Raheen Gaels), 5. Emer Conroy (O’Moores), 6. Ella Phelan (Naomh Eamon), 7. Orla Brophy (The Harps), 8. Catherine Kirby (The Harps), 9. Lorraine Bergin (The Harps), 10. Rebecca Cahill (Portlaoise), 11. Lucy Donoghue (Clonad Raheen Gaels), 12. Aoibheann Styne (Banríon Gaels), 13. Erin Walsh (Camross), 14. Emma Jane Cuddy (Naomh Eamon), 15. Aoife Kirby (The Harps).

Laois Substitutes: 16. Erin Hassett (St Brigids), 17. Amy Daly (St Brigids), 18. Ruth Killeen (Banrion Gaels), 19. Aoife Morris (Portaloise), 20. Kayla O’Meara (St Lazarians), 21. Shauna Walsh (St Brigids), 22. Katie Kavanagh (Naomh Eamon), 23. Eimear Murphy (The Harps), 24. Sarah Dunne (Naomh Eamon), 25. Erin Fitzpatrick (Naomh Eamon), 26. Brianne Bergin (St Brigids), 27. Saoirse Russell (O’Moores), 28. Charley Delaney (Naomh Eamon).