Dublin Travel To Face Tipperary In Opening Round Of The 2023 Glen Dimplex Senior All Ireland Series


Dublin will head into the 2023 Glen Dimplex Senior All Ireland series in buoyant mood after a positive run in the Leinster championship

The Dublin Squad who start their Glen Dimplex Senior All Ireland campaign against Tipperary tomorrow.
The Dublin Squad who start their Glen Dimplex Senior All Ireland campaign against Tipperary tomorrow. Image Credit: ILivephotos

Dublin’s Senior Camogie squad begin their 2023 Glen Dimplex Senior All Ireland campaign tomorrow afternoon away to Tipperary at The Ragg with the game throwing-in at 5pm.

The Dubs are in what will be a very competitive group two of the senior championship alongside tomorrow’s opponent’s Tipperary, Kilkenny and Wexford.

Optimism looking ahead to the summer and the Leinster and All Ireland competitions among supporters would have been fairly low after Dublin’s poor league campaign, but a transformed Dublin emerged for the Leinster championship and Gerry McQuaid’s side reached the Leinster Final.

The final was always going to be the litmus test for Dublin up against favourites Kilkenny who they had faced in the previous years final which Kilkenny won at a canter, so the 2023 Leinster final would give a barometer of where Dublin actually were ahead of the All Ireland series.

Anyone who thought Dublin’s upsurge in performance was a false dawn and Kilkenny would bring them back down to earth in the final were proved wrong as the Dubs matched their much vaunted opponents and with the game heading into injury time were right in the game.

A late fortuitous goal for Kilkenny proved to be the difference between the teams at the final whistle and although it ended in defeat for Dublin there were huge positives to take from the game and plenty of optimism for the 2023 All Ireland Championship campaign to come.

And tomorrow sees that campaign getting underway. Tipperary are formidable opponents on their home patch but Dublin will head to game in buoyant mood and have proven already that if they play at the top of their game they can be a match for any side.

The action gets underway in The Ragg at 5pm tomorrow evening and for supporters who can’t make the game but want to keep up with all the action we will have LIVE UPDATES of all the action from throw-in over on out Twitter account @wearedub

Dublin: 1. Éabha Mooney (Castleknock), 2. Abby Ryan (Crumlin), 3, Orla Gray (Na Fianna), 4. Zoe Couch (St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh), 5. Claire Gannon (Naomh Jude), 6. Eve O’Brien (Na Fianna), 7. Hannah O’Dea (Cuala), 8. Muireann Kelliher (St Vincents), 9. Gaby Couch (St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh), 10. Leah Butler (Naomh Jude), 11. Elyse Jamieson Murphy (Na Fianna), 12. Ashling Gannon (Naomh Jude), 13. Grace O’Shea (Ballinteer St Johns), 14. Ashling O’Neill (Castleknock), 15. Aisling Maher (St Vincents).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Ciara Tierney (Na Fianna), 17. Christine Shanahan (Naomh Olafs), 18. Ellen Baker (Castleknock), 19. Aoife Heffernan (Naomh Peregrines), 20. Juliette O’Flynn (Cuala), 21. Sinead Murphy (Cuala), 22. Jennifer Moore (Good Counsel Liffey Gaels), 23. Niamh Heffernan (Naomh Peregrines), 24. Niamh Comerford (Kilmacud Crokes), 25. Mari Moynihan (Lucan Sarsfields), 26. Jody Couch (St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh), 27. Aoibhe Dillion (Naomh Mearnóg), 28. Issy Davis (Kilmacud Crokes), 29. Lauran Robinson (Raheny), 30. Amy Burke (Ballinteer St John’s).