Two Dublin Camogie Players in sky blue jerseys and navy skorts tackle a Limerick player in a green Jersey and green skort in the Dublin Seniors League game in Division 1


Dublin 1-12

Limerick 1-16


A stirring second half comeback by the Dublin Seniors this afternoon in Parnells GAA club just came up short against Limerick in their Littlewoods Ireland Camogie Leagues Division 1 clash.

Limerick playing with a strong wind in the first half built up a nine point lead by the short whistle and looked to be completely in the driving seat.

Dublin though put in a serious shift after the break and outscored their opponents for the second thirty minutes by 1-08 to 0-06, but unfortunately it wasn’t enough to get anything from the game.

Frank Browne’s Dublin Seniors started brightly and inside the opening minute took the lead with a fine point from Evelyn Twomey.

The wind though was always going to be a factor and Limerick were ultra clinical in using it and reeled off six unanswered points to take control of the game.

A nice point from play from Caoimhe Costello in the 2nd minute to draw level was followed with points from Niamh Mulcahy with two, one from a free the other from open play, Costello with her second of the half and one each from Deborah Murphy and Caoimhe Lyons.

A point from Ali Twomey stemmed the one way scoring traffic. The teams then swapped a brace of frees successfully dispatched by Niamh Mulcahy for Limerick and Aisling Maher For Dublin.

Limerick were getting a lot of joy running up through the center of Dublin and it paid off twice for them in the latter stages of the half.

Four minutes from the break and Rebecca Delee found the back of the net with a good finish after some excellent build up play and just on the whistle another break through the middle resulted in a penalty for the Shannonsiders.

With a healthy lead Niamh Mulcahy choose to take a point from the spot and she swung over another free a minute later to give Limerick a commanding nine point lead at halftime with the score 1-10 to 0-04.

With an uphill battle on their hands the Dublin Seniors needed a quick start, but Limerick stretched their lead to ten points seconds after the restart with a fine effort from Niamh Mulcahy.

An excellent point from Aisling Maher reduced the deficit but a point from Caoimhe Costello in the 33rd minute put ten between the teams again.

Dublin though were seeing a lot more of the ball and an Aoibhe Dillon converted free and a point from play from Siobhan Kehoe cut into the Limerick lead once again.

It then became a battle of the free takers with Niamh Mulcahy concerting two and Dublin’s Aoibhe Dillon scoring two of her own and a cracking point from the right hand side for good measure.

But Limerick always had the ability to pick off the scores to keep Dublin at arms length and points from Niamh Mulcahy and Rebecca Delee put nine between the teams again with eight minutes remaining.

The Dublin Seniors though weren’t going down without a fight and finished the game on top.

Substitute Sinead Wylde did brilliantly to cut in from the right past a couple of Limerick defenders and finish the ball to the net which drew a loud cheer from the spectators around the pitch.

Two more converted frees followed from Aisling Maher and Aoibhe Dillon to cut the deficit to just four points, but time ran out for Dublin and Limerick held on for the win.


Dublin Scorers:


9. Aoibhe Dillon 0-05 (4f)

14. Aisling Maher 0-04 (3f)

28. Sinead Wylde 1-00

10. Evelyn Twomey 0-01

11. Ali Twomey 0-01

15. Siobhan Kehoe 0-01


Limerick Scorers:


11. Niamh Mulcahy 0-10 (7f)

5. Rebecca Delee 1-01

14. Caoimhe Costello 0-03

10. Deborah Murphy 0-01

12. Caoimhe Lyons 0-01




1. Faye McCarthy

2. Orla Gray

3. Eve O’Brien

4. Emma O’Byrne

5. Dee Johnstone

6. Aisling Carolan

7. Grainne Quinn

8. Roisin Baker

9. Aoibhe Dillon

10. Evelyn Twomey

11. Ali Twomey

12. Kerrie Finnegan

13. Emma Gray

14. Aisling Maher

15. Siobhan Kehoe


Dublin Substitutions:


20. Ellen McGovern for 10. Evelyn Twomey (30th Min)

28. Sinead Wylde for 12. Kerrie Finnegan (46th Min)

26. Orla Beagan for 11. Ali Twomey (48th Min)

23. Laura Twomey for 13. Emma Gray (54th Min)




16. Claire Keating

2. Megan O’Mara

18. Laura Stack

4. Marian Quaid

5. Rebecca Delee

6. Mairead Ryan

7. Neamh Curtin

8. Karen O’Leary

9. Sarah Carey

10. Deborah Murphy

11. Niamh Mulcahy

12. Caoimhe Lyons

13. Katie Hennessy

14. Caoimhe Costello

15. Roisin O’Mara


Limerick Substitutes:


20. Dearbhla Egan for 15. Roisin O’Mara (44th Min)

19. Sophie O’Callaghan for 13. Katie Hennessy (52nd Min)

17. Lisa Barrett for 7. Neamh Curtin (55th Min)

21. Aine Reynolds for 18. Laura Stack (59th Min)