Wicklow 0-02 Dublin 7-17

Shane Plowman’s Premier Junior Camogie panel are three for three in the group stage of the Liberty Insurance Championship after an unbelievable performance this afternoon in Baltinglass.

Sinead Wylde, substitute Nadine Murphy, along with Roisin Baker, Emer Keenan and Emma Young all raised green flags in a seven goal salvo to put Dublin top of Group 1 before their bye week and final game against hot contenders Westmeath.

And giving that Dublin had a wide count of 11 misses over the 60 minutes, the win margin could have been vastly more. Wicklow put in a whole hearted performance and never gave up right the final whistle, but they were simply out classed today by a hungry Dublin side who are definitely contenders to the Premier Junior Championship Throne.

It simply wasn’t Wicklow’s day, and losing both Lisa Hogan and Sinead Byrne to injury in the first and second half respectively really didn’t help their fight. Even wind advantage in the first session appeared to be a disadvantage.

After putting the first 2 attempts wide, Laoise Quinn got Dublin’s account open in the fourth, and despite an immediate response from a Laura Manley free, the Dubs opened to flood gates.

Eimear Keenan’s first goal attempt clouted the upright and away to safety, but 3 minutes later it was Keenan who was instrumental, finding Sinead Wylde in space for a perfect pass, and the ball was in the net for the first time. Keenan and Roisin Baker added two more points before Laura Manley pointed Wicklow’s second and final score of the game before the 20th minute.

Wylde’s second goal was pure diligence and perseverance. After a pass in from Aoife Dooley, Wylde turned and blasted the sliotar towards Wicklow keeper Bernie Byrne, but again Dublin were to be denied by the upright. Emer Keenan cleaned the loose ball and cleverly sent it back into the path of Sinead Wylde who made sure on the second shot.

Dublin tagged on another 0-02 before Laoise Quinn found Roisin Baker in clear space and bearing down. Baker caught a wonderful pass and finished with ease for Dublin’s third goal. And with Wylde and Aoife Dooley scoring out the half, Dublin were leading 3-07 to 0-02.

The second half theme continued with Dublin’s dominance shutting Wicklow down at every turn. Deirdre Johnstone, Grainne Free and Emma Barron were tireless in the half back line, quite literally soaking every ball that came within their reach. Nadine Murphy, who replaced Laoise Quinn at half time, opened her account in the 2nd minutes with a beautiful tight angled point from play.

Keenan, Wylde and Murphy again kept the scoreboard ticking, Aoife Dooley added her second of the day from one of her many powerful runs from the edge of midfield, and before the middle of the half, Emer Keenan had added yet another goal, palming the ball towards the net under pressure from two Wicklow player and the keeper.

Within 3 minutes, Dublin had added their fifth green flag of the day, when substitute Emma Young had the wherewithal to pull on a loose ball to send it rolling across the line to the dismay of the Wicklow keeper.

And if anyone was going to finish out the game on a high today it was going to be St. Vincents Nadine Murphy. Having already scored 0-02 from play and 0-02 from frees, it was Nadine’s turn to rattle the net. And she did it twice. The first with 10 minutes to go and the second coming just past normal time in the game with a huge long free sandwiched between from keeper Aishling Spillane.

With Murphy’s goal the last action of the game, Dublin celebrated their third consecutive win with one more group game to go, against Westmeath in 2 weeks time, knowing the result of that game will determine who they could be facing in the knock out stages.

Wicklow Scorers:
Laura Manley 0-02 (2f)

Dublin Scorers:
Nadine Murphy 2-04 (2f)
Sinead Wylde 2-03
Roisin Baker 1-02
Emer Keenan 1-02
Emma Young 1-00
Aoife Dooley 0-02
Evelyn Twomey 0-01
Laoise Quinn 0-01
Roisin Drohan 0-01
Aishling Spillane 0-01 (1f)

1. Bernie Byrne
2. Nora O’Neill
3. Kellie Byrne
4. Shannagh Goetelen
5. Lisa Hogan
6. Claire Byrne
7. Sarah Forde
8. Shauna Keogh
9. Sile Whelan
10. Sinead Byrne
11. Laura Manley
12. Sarah Byrne
13. Aine O’Keefe
14. Aoife Weir
18. Kelly O’Neill
15. Chloe Dwyer

26mins 1st Half On:15. Chloe Dwyer Off:5. Lisa Hogan
12mins 2nd Half On:20. Sarah Tallon Off:10. Sinead Byrne
16mins 2nd Half On:17. Denise Walsh Off:13. Aine O’Keefe
16mins 2nd Half On:16. Katie Daynes Off:18. Kelly O’Neill
29mins 2nd Half On:13. Aine O’Keefe Off:2. Nora O’Neill

1. Aishling Spillane
2. Emma O’Flynn
3. Niamh Gleeson
4. Roisin MacLoughlin
5. Emma Barron
6. Deirdre Johnstone
7. Grainne Free
22. Roisin Drohan
9. Caoimhe Ni Mhaolagain
10 Aoife Dooley
11. Roisin Baker
12. Evelyn Twomey
13. Laoise Quinn
14. Sinead Wylde
15. Emer Keenan

Half Time On:21. Nadine Murphy Off:13. Laoise Quinn
06mins 2nd Half On:17. Sinead Nolan Off:12. Evelyn Twomey
14mins 2nd Half On:19. Emma Young Off:5. Emma Barron
21mins 2nd Half On:27. Kate Mulvey Off:11. Roisin Baker
21mins 2nd Half On:8. Grainne Power Off:22. Roisin Drohan