Dublin Intermediate team named for opening Championship game


Tomorrow’s opening Championship game against Meath will be the second meeting of the sides this season

The Dublin Intermediate squad pictured before a game, the Dublin Inters opening championship game is tomorrow against Meath

Dublin Intermediate manager Dave Dunning has named his side for tomorrow’s opening championship game against Meath in Páirc Tailteann at 2pm.

Dublin’s young Inters side have had to endure a sharp learning curve this season at adult level.

They suffered relegation from Division 2 of the league a few weeks back as the side, mainly made up of players playing at the adult grade for the first time, found the step up from minor unforgiving.

Tomorrow’s meeting with Meath will be the second game between the counties this season.

They met in the League at the end of May in O’Toole Park, Meath prevailed on the day by 0-12 to 0-08, but the game was closer than the scoreline suggested with Dublin missing a penalty late in the game.

The game tomorrow could be equally as tight and may come down to the finest of margins.

The one area Dublin will have to improve is their scoring return certainly from open play as all of their scores in the last meeting between the sides came from frees.


Dublin Intermediate Team


1. Dara Cooke (Crumlin)

2. Christine Shanahan (Naomh Olaf)

3. Kerri Milne (Naomhh Fionnbarra)

4. Niamh Gleeson (Na Fianna)

5. Cara Feeney (Castleknock)

6. Molly O’Neill (Castleknock)

7. Ciara Buchanan (C) (Naomh Mearnóg)

8. Caitlin Coffey (Castleknock)

9. Siobhan Kehoe (Naomh Fionnbarra)

10. Aoife Deegan (Naomh Peregrine)

11. Niamh Comerford (Kilmacud Crokes)

12. Aoife Heffernan (Naomh Peregrine)

13. Nicola Thorne (Skerries Harps)

14. Sarah Fenlon (Kilmacud Crokes)

15. Anna Sullivan (Naomh Uinsionn)


Dublin Substitutes


16. Sophie Brennan (Naomh Mearnóg)

17. Rachel Seery (Faughs Celtic)

18. Rachel Dolan (Ballinteer St. John)

19. Ellen Dunphy (Lucan Sarsfields)

20. Ciara Holland (Naomh Mearnóg)

21. Niamh Heffernan (Naomh Peregrine)

22. Aoibhe Dillon (Naomh Mearnóg)

23. Lauren Robinson (Raheny)

24. Amy Quinn (Naomh Bríd)

25. Meadhbh Hicks (Cumann Báire Caoimhín)

26. Fiona Isdell (Na Fianna)

27. Laura Sharkey (Lucan Sarsfields)

28. Grainne Skelton (Naomh Mearnóg)

29. Anna Farrell (Na Fianna)

30. Megan Benson (Naomh Maur)

31. Ciara Clohessy (Naomh Jude)




1. Maggie Randle (Donaghmore-Ashbourne)

2. Louise Donoghue (Kiltale)

3. Ellen Burke (Dunboyne)

4. Sophia Payne (Na Fianna)

5. Leah Divine (Na Fianna)

6. Maeve Clince (Dunboyne)

7. Tracy King (Kilmessan)

8. Aoife Minogue (Dunderry)

9. Grace Coleman (Killyon)

10. Amy Gaffney (Ratoath)

11. Sinead Hackett (Dunboyne)

12. Jane Dolan (Blackhall Gaels)

13. Maire Kirby (Na Fianna)

14. Claire Coffey (Na Fianna)

15. Aedin Slattery (Na Fianna)


Meath Substitutes


16. Katie Smith (Kildalkey)

17. Sophie Healy (Na Fianna)

18. Kristina Troy (C) (Blackhall Gaels)

19. Eimear Fagan (Na Fianna)

20. Niamh Daly (Dunderry)

21. Andrea McBride (Kildalkey)

22. Megan Thynne (Kilmessan)

23. Amy Farrelly (Clan Na Gael)