Dublin Intermediate Team Named For Must Win Game Against Galway


A third championship loss in a row for the Dublin Intermediate team will see them embroiled in a relegation dogfight

Three Sliotars on a pitch to signify the naming of the Dublin Intermediate team for their All Ireland clash against Galway

The Dublin Intermediate team to face Galway in the third game of their Glen Dimplex All Ireland Intermediate Camogie Championship has been announced.

The game in Naomh Peregrine at 5pm tomorrow evening is a must win game for the Dubs with Jimmy Greville’s side staring down the barrel of a relegation dogfight after losses in their opening two games of the championship.

Dublin opened their campaign with a heavy loss to Kilkenny by 4-13 to 1-04 and followed that up with an away loss by 2-11 to 0-05 to Cork to leave them rooted to the bottom of the group with one group game to go.

Tomorrow’s opponents Galway come to the Capital as the reigning All Ireland intermediate champions and are smarting from an opening round loss by 0-19 to 0-11 to table toppers Kilkenny.

With Cork sitting in second place in the table on three points, Galway will be determined to secure the win against the Dubs before they head to face Cork next weekend in what would be a shootout to secure a place in the knockout stages.

Even if the Dubs pull off what many would see as a shock win against Galway tomorrow evening, it still may not be enough to avoid a relegation play-off as a Galway win over Cork would see all three teams locked on three points but Dublin’s inferior scoring difference and loss in the head to head with Cork would come into play.

Dublin: 1. Lauren Campbell (Naomh Peregrines), 2. Hazel Austin (Naomh Maurs), 3. Shauna McCarthy (Naomh Fionnbarra), 4. Caoimhe Tierney (Raheny), 5. Sarah Power (Fingallians), 6. Robyn Buckley (Skerries Harps), 7. Leonie Power (Ballyboden St Endas), 8. Emily Adderley (Ballinteer St Johns), 9. Aoife Kenny (Fingallians), 10. Aoife Deegan (C) (Naomh Peregrines), 11. Aoibhe Dillon (Naomh Mearnóg), 12. Grainne Skelton (Naomh Mearnóg), 13. Joye Atkinson (Good Counsel Liffey Gaels), 14. Meadbh Hicks (Cumann Báire Chaoimhín), 15. Milly Hughes (Lucan Sarsfields).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Catriona Feeney (Na Fianna), 17. Amy Carey (St Brigids), 18. Ciara Mullin (Naomh Mearnóg), 19. Rebecca Horan (Crumlin), 20. Cliona Ní Bhuachala (Lucan Sarsfields), 21. Lynn McMahon Keegan (Cumann Baire Setanta), 22. Ashling Goarke (Cuala), 23. Nicola Cotter (Raheny), 24. Caoimhe Walsh (St Vincents), 25. Nina Brennan (Na Fianna), 26. Grace Shanahan (Naomh Olaf), 27. Eile O’Ceallaigh (Whitehall Colmcille), 28. Aoibhean Stokes (Lucan Sarsfields), 29. Hannah Gibbs (Lucan Sarsfields), 30. Sophie Brennan (Naomh Mearnóg), 31. Ciara Murphy (Naomh Olaf).