Dublin Intermediate Team Announced For Relegation Final


It’s last chance saloon for the Dublin Intermediate Camogie squad to secure their Intermediate status this Sunday against Laois in the relegation final

A Dublin Intermediate Camogie player wearing the number five jersey, the Dublin Intermediates face Laois in the championship relegation final this weekend.

Manager Jimmy Greville has named his Dublin Intermediate side to face Laois in Sunday’s All Ireland Intermediate relegation final in Banagher.

It’s been a very poor All Ireland championship campaign for Dublin who lost all three of their group games to finish bottom of group 1 and found themselves in a three way relegation battle with Carlow and Laois.

Dublin’s losing streak continued last weekend in the relegation semi final with Carlow coming out on top by 1-16 to 1-07.

On Sunday they have one last chance to secure intermediate status for next season against a Laois side who are also looking to secure their first win of this year’s championship.

With so much at stake and looking at the current form of both sides it’s difficult to make a concrete prediction as to which side will secure the vital win, but the stats would lean slightly towards a Dublin win as on paper they have the better defence based on the scores conceded.

Laois in their three group games conceded on average per game just over three goals and seventeen points, with the Dubs conceding on average just over two goals and thirteen points.

Also the quality of opposition both sides faced in their respective groups varied, Dublin faced Kilkenny, Cork and last seasons champions Galway, with Laois coming up against Meath, Westmeath and Kerry.

Taking all that into consideration on paper Dublin should just have the edge, but games are not played on paper and this one may well come right down to the wire.

Dublin: 1. Lauryn Campbell (Naomh Peregrine), 2. Nicola Cotter (Raheny), 3. Lauren Robinson (Raheny), 4. Caoimhe Tierney (Raheny), 5. Hazel Austin (St Maurs), 6. Sarah Power (Fingallians), 7. Emily Adderley (Ballinteer St Johns), 8. Grainne Skelton (Naomh Mearnóg), 9. Aoife Kenny (Fingallians), 10. Aoife Deegan (C) (Naomh Peregrine), 11. Robyn Buckley (Skerries Harps), 12. Meadhbh Hicks (St Kevins), 13. Amy Carey (St Brigids), 14. Grace Shanahan (Naomh Olaf), 15. Eile Ni Cheallaigh (Whitehall Colmcilles).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Catriona Feeney (Na Fianna), 17. Sophie Brennan (Naomh Mearnóg), 18. Aisling Groarke (Cuala), 19. Leonie Power (Ballyboden St Endas), 20. Nina Brennan (Na Fianna), 21. Joye Atkinson (Good Counsel Liffey Gaels), 22. Ciara Murphy (Naomh Olaf), 23. Shauna MacCarthy (Naomh Fionnbarra).