Dublin Premier Juniors Begin Championship With Opening Round Fixture Against Armagh


Promotional poster for the Dublin Premier Junior Camogie teams opening round championship game against Armagh featuring two Dublin Camogie players in sky blue jerseys and wearing helmets one black and one blue and white

Opening Round Win For Dublin Vital In Three Team Group


Liberty Insurance Premier Junior Camogie Championship Group 2

Dublin v Armagh

Saturday July 14th

Venue: Parnells GAA Club, Coolock

Throw-In: 5pm

Referee: Paul Ryan


The opening round of the Premier Junior camogie championship gets underway tomorrow as Dublin welcome Armagh to Parnells GAA Club in Coolock.

Dublin manager Shane Plowman has named his first championship team of 2018 as the Premiers start their journey which will hopefully end in Croke Park in September.

Dublin are in group 2 alongside tomorrow’s opponents Armagh and Roscommon. With only three teams in the group it’s vital Dublin get off to a winning start in their only home fixture.

The top two teams in groups 1 and 2 will contest the All Ireland championship semi finals, the winners of group 1 facing the runners up in group two and vice versa.

Dublin reached last seasons championship decider but just came up short against Westmeath.

They will be looking to go one better this season and their form so far this season is very encouraging that they can do exactly that.

Newly promoted to Division 2 of the National camogie leagues some expected it would take a couple of games for Dublin to settle into the higher grade.

But Shane Plowman’s side took to the higher division like a duck to water and went through the group stage unbeaten to reach the semi finals.

Again their opponents in the semi final were Westmeath and it was the girls from the Lake County who held the upper hand once again.

A run to the Leinster final followed and yet another meeting with Westmeath who continued to hold the Indian sign over Dublin to claim another victory.

It must be noted though that Westmeath have been playing at a higher level to Dublin for a number of seasons and that experience at that level certainly stood to them.

Dublin though won’t have to contend with Westmeath in the championship as the midlanders are contesting the intermediate championship.

That doesn’t mean it will be any easier for Dublin to traverse the choppy waters of championship battle, but hopefully playing at a higher league level this season will stand to them in their upcoming matches.

The first step on the road to Croke Park starts tomorrow at 5pm, Armagh will provide a stern challenge and by around 6.30pm we will know if Dublin have passed their opening round championship exam of 2018.


Dublin Team:


1. Kathryn Kantounia

Naomh Uinsionn


2. Emma O’Flynn

Lucan Sarsfields


3. Deirdre Johnstone

Naomh Uinsionn


4. Niamh Gleeson

Na Fianna


5. Emma Barron

Naomh Judes


6. Caoimhe Ni Maolagain

St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh


7. Sinead Murphy



8. Hannah O’Dea



9. Louise O’Shea

Ballinteer St Johns


10. Aoife Dooley



11. Aoibhe Dillon

Naomh Mearnog


12. Caragh Dawson

St Judes


13. Aoife Walsh

St Judes


14. Laura Walsh

Naomh Mearnog


15. Laoise Quinn

St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh




16. Chloe Ni Cheallaigh

Naomh Olaf


17. Grainne Free

Na Fianna


18. Shauna McBride

Naomh Uinsionn


19. Nadine Murphy

Naomh Uinsionn


20. Eimear O’Riordan

St. Judes


21. Aishling Spillane

Skerries Harps


22. Sinead Nolan

St Judes


23. Emer Keenan

Lucan Sarsfields


24. Evelyn Twomey

Naomh Uinsionn


25. Grainne Power

Naomh Mearnog


26. Aoife Bugler

St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh


27. Ciara Carolan

St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh


28. Rachel Noctor

Kilmacud Crokes


29. Sinead Wylde



30. Ciara Buchannan

St Finians