TG4 Senior Championship Quarter Final.

Dublin v Kerry,
Saturday August 23rd,
St Brendan’s Park, Birr,
Throw-in 12.30pm

Since winning their first Leinster senior Provincial title back in 2002 Dublin has gone on to contest nine TG4 Championship Senior quarter finals their record in the last eight currently stands as having won 4 and lost 5.

This Saturday’s clash with Williams O’Sullivan’s, Kerry is an ideal opportunity for the Dubs to balance their history books.

Dublin will be fully focused on booking their place in the 2014 semi-final a feat the Dubs have failed to achieve since winning the Brendan Martin cup back in 2010.

Dublin will be fully aware of the arduous task that lies ahead of them this weekend as Kerry have been one of the top sides in Ladies football over the last few seasons reaching the All Ireland decider in 2012 while snatching the Munster title away from Cork in 2013.

Kerry having lost to Cork in this year’s Munster final overcame a resurgent Donegal side in the qualifiers but not before the Ulster side had given the Kingdom a shock with a period of extra time required to separate the two sides. Kerry eventually pulled away in additional time to record a five point win, Kerry 1-22 (25) Donegal 2-14 (20).

Dublin’s last competitive game was on July 13th last when they bull dozed Laois in the Leinster final by 6-21 (39) to 0-04 (4), Laois exited the championship last weekend when Ulster Champions Armagh saw off the challenge of the O’Moore County in style recording a 5-17(32) to 0-09 (9) victory.

To date Dublin and Kerry have met on three occasions in the championship with the Dubs having a slight edge over the Kingdom with two wins to Kerry’s one.

The two sides first met in senior championship back in 2003 in the All Ireland semi- final with Dublin seeing off the challenge of the Kingdom by 0-13 to 0-08. Current keeper, Cliodhna O’Connor lined out in goal for Dublin on that occasion while Sinead Aherne and Siobhan McGrath where listed amongst the Dublin subs.

In 2009 Dublin and Kerry met in the quarter final once again the Dubs where able to see off the challenge from Kerry as Gerry McGill’s side won by 1-13 (16) to 2-06 (12). A number of the 2014 Dublin panel where involved in the 2009 clash, Cliodhna O’Connor, Colleen Barrett, Sorcha Furlong, Siobhan McGrath, Denise Masterson, Lyndsey Davey and Sinead Aherne all playing their part in the quarter final victory.

When the two sides meet in the 2012 quarter final Kerry had gained the upper hand over their Dublin menaces the Kingdom holding out to claim a famous one point victory over their Leinster rivals. Current Mayo boss, Peter Clarke was in charge of Dublin that season as Kerry knocked Dublin out of the 2012 championship race on a score line of 0-11 to 0-10.

Current stars on duty for Dublin on that fateful day in Birr where, Cliodhna O’Connor, Rachel Ruddy, Sinead Goldrick, Sinead Finnegan, Sinead Aherne, Olivia Leonard, Niamh Collins, Natalia Hyland and Niamh McEvoy.

Dublin under manager Gregory McGonigle have been progressing nicely this season and will be viewed by many as slight favourites going into Saturday’s contest however Kerry are an experienced polished outfit and will be determined to book their place in the semi-final for a third year in a row.

Here is one for the historians, come Saturday remarkably Birr will have played host to Dublin’s last four quarter final outings while Saturday’s match official, John Niland of Sligo has also refereed all of Dublin’s quarter final appearances since 2011.

The 2014 instalment of this great GAA rivalry will get under way this coming Saturday August 23rd at 12.30pm in St Brendans Park, Birr.

Incidentally the Birr club ground is named after St Brendan who according to the record books was born in Tralee County Kerry in 484, he was fondly known as the Navigator.

Gregory McGonigle will be hoping that Dublin will be able to navigate their way into a semi- final and set up a final four appearance against Cork, Armagh or Galway / Monaghan.

The open draw for the 2014 TG4 All Ireland semi-finals will take place LIVE on TG4 following the Galway v Monaghan quarter final which gets under way at 2.15pm also in Birr.

Both quarter finals will be broadcast LIVE on TG4 with transmission getting underway at 12 noon.

2003 All Ireland Semi Final:
Dublin XV: Cliodhna O’Connor, Sorcha Farrelly, Louise Keegan, Maria Kavanagh, Niamh Hurley, Martina Farrell, Orla Colreavy, Angie McNally, Niamh McEvoy, Bernie Finlay, Gemma Fay, Karen Hopkins, Mary Nevin, Louise Kelly, Ashling McCormack.
Scorers: A McNally 0-06, K Hopkins 0-02, M Nevin 0-02, B Finlay, G Fay, E Kelly 0-01 each

Kerry XV: Andrea O’Donoghue, Laura Ross, Grainne Ni Fhlatharta, Jackie Murnane, Katie Gleeson, Caroline Kelly, Sarah O’Connor, Mairead Finnegan, Edel O’Connell, Katie Kenneally, Kacey O’Driscoll, Noreen Feeley, Patrice Dennehy, Geraldine O’Shea, Deirdre Corridon.
Scorers: G O’Shea 0-4, K O’Driscoll 0-03, N Feeley 0-01

2009 All Ireland Quarter Final:
Dublin XV: Cliodhna O’Connor, Avril Cluxron, Noelle Comyn, Maria Kavanagh, Colleen Barrett, Sorcha Furlong, Siobhan McGrath, Denise Masterson, Niamh McEvoy, Mary Nevin, Amy McGuinness, Kim Flood, Lyndsey Davey, Sinead Ahearne, Elaine Kelly
Scorers: S Aherne 0-05, K Flood 1-00, A McGuinness 0-02, L Davey 0-02, C Barrett, N McEvoy, M Nevin, E Kelly 0-01 each

Kerry XV: L Driscoll, C Buckley, SJ Joy, A Lyons, M Finnegan, A Foley, A Leonard, L Scanlon, S Houlihan, L Cronin, L Ni Mhuircheartaigh, D Murphy, M O’Donoghue, P Dennehy, J Brosnan.
Scorers: M O’Donoghue 1-00, J Brosnan 1-01, L Ni Mhuircheartaigh 0-02, L Scanlon, S Houlihan, P Dennehy 0-01 each.

2012 All Ireland Quarter Final:
Dublin XV: Cliodhna O’Connor, Grainne O’Malley, Joanne O’Sullivan, Sinead O’Mahony, Rachel Ruddy, Sinead Goldrick, Fiona Hudson, Gemma Fay, Sinead Finnegan, Olivia Leonard, Niamh Collins, Natalia Hyland, Sinead Ahearne, Niamh McEvoy, Amy Ring
Scorers: S Ahearne 0-04, S Goldrick, N Hyland 0-02 each, A McGuinness, N McEvoy 0-1 each

Kerry XV: E Murphy, C Lynch, A Leonard, A Lyons, J Brosnan, A Desmond, L Galvin, E Sherwood, B Breen, S Houlihan, D Corridan, C Kelly, M O’Connell, L Scanlon, L Ni Mhuircheartaigh
Scorers: L Ni Mhuircheartaigh 0-04, M O’Connell 0-03, S Houlihan, D Corridan, P Dennehy, L Galvin 0-01 each.

You may also like...