TESCO Homegrown Leinster Club Championship.
Saturday 4th October – 2pm
Senior Quarter Final
Na Fianna (Dublin) v Shelmalier (Wexford)
Referee: Des McEnery (Westmeath)

Following on from last Sunday’s epic All Ireland final in Croke Park attention this weekend returns to the club scene with Dublin champions Na Fianna (Senior), Kilmacud Crokes (Intermediate) and Clann Mhuire (Junior) all in Leinster club championship action.

First up on Saturday Na Fianna will welcome the Shelmalier club from Wexford to Mobhi Road for the quarter final of the Leinster senior championship. Na Fianna last won the provincial title back in 2011 the same year the Glasnevin club reached the All- Ireland final only to eventually lose out in that decider to Carnacon of Mayo.

The following season Shelmaliers secured the Provincial crown defeating then Dublin champions Foxrock Cabinteely in a hard fought game which was played in appalling weather conditions. However Shelmaliers 2012 season came to an end in the semi-final when Donaghmoyne of Monaghan went on to defeat the Wexford club by 1-21 to 0-7.

In an interesting twist, six of Wexford’s Junior All Ireland winning squad will line out in Saturdays clash for their clubs, five for Shelmalier including team Captain Clara Donnelly and one for NaFianna, defender Linda Casey .

Na Fianna is an experienced outfit with a fine blend of youth and experience throughout their ranks which includes Dublin duo Leah Caffrey and Lucy Collins. Na Fianna will be looking to seasoned veterans Bronagh and Alma O’Donnell along with Claire O’Hara and Ciara McDermott to play their part in what will be a keenly contested quarter final.

A sizeable crowd will be expected at the Mobhi Road venue which could hand the home side a slight advantage in what should be a tight, hard fought encounter. Team manager Ray Dorney will be hoping that his chargers can deliver a similar performance to that which saw off Foxrock Cabinteely in the County final back in July.

Na Fianna Panel:

Aisling Lyons, Alma O’Donnell, Aoife Nolan, Arlene Cushen, Bronagh O’Donnell, Ciara McDermott, Ciara Purdy, Claire Kelly, Claire O’Hara, Danielle Pugh, Deirdre Lyons, Denise Cassidy, Fiona Maye

Fiona Tuite, Katie Breen, Leah Caffrey, Linda Casey, Lorraine O’Sullivan, Lucy Collins, Marguerite Mullan, Muireann O’Gorman, Muireann Quinn, Nadine Doherty, Orla Cullen, Orlagh Egan, Sorcha Turnbull. (Management) Ray Dorney, Lyn Savage, Bernie Finaly.

Previous Championship Results:

Dublin Senior Championship Group A

14th May 2014: Na Fianna 4-11 Thomas Davis 0-5

21st May 2014: Na Fianna 2-19 Clanna Gael Fontenoy 0-5

28th May 2014: Na Fianna 3-12 St. Sylvester’s 2-8

Dublin Senior Championship Semi Final

2nd July 2014: Na Fianna 2-13 St. Brigids 1-14

Dublin Senior Championship Semi Final

25th July 2014: Na Fianna 1-11 Foxrock Cabinteely 1-09.

Image Credit:GaaPics.IMG_4724.JPG

You may also like...