Na Fianna Are The 2014 Dublin Senior Ladies Football Champions.

Dublin LGFA Senior Championship Final

Na Fianna 1-11 Foxrock Cabinteely 1-09

Na Fianna are the new champions of Dublin lifting the Michael Murphy memorial cup for a third time in the Glasnevin clubs history with previous titles having been captured back in 2009 and 2011.

Credit to both Foxrock Cabinteely and Na Fianna for producing a pulsating final, the levels of fitness, pace and doggedness on display from both teams was at an all time high especially considering the hot and humid weather conditions.

The first half was a master class in defensive skills as both teams employed the blanket defence policy and as such scores where at a premium.

Dublin captain Sinead Goldrick got her team off to the perfect start popping up from midfield to strike over the opening point of the game within the opening minute.

Former Dublin star Orlagh Egan soon cancelled Goldrick’s point with a well taken free showing calmness and precision in front of the posts.

Egan’s former County minor colleague Amy Connolly added on Foxrock Cabinteely’s third point in the tenth minute following on from a previous point taken by Sarah Brophy which came in the 6th minute.

As both defences showed the “thou shall not pass” sign defenders were tackling on the edge, so unsurprisingly in the fifteenth minute as Orlagh Egan penetrated the Foxrock Cabinteely Small Square she was dragged down and a penalty was duly awarded.

Former Donegal starlet Nadine Doherty stepped up to take the spot kick, her shot was saved superbly by Fox Cab keeper Carol Manning giving her side a huge boost so much so that they swept up the field with Amy Connolly finishing the move with a beautifully taken point. A second point was added moments later by Cooley native, Ann Marie Murphy.

However it was Na Fianna who finished the first half strongly taking a two point lead into the dressing room following a brace of scores from Egan, former Mayo Captain Claire O’Hara and U21 All Ireland winner Lucy Collins, HT score Na Fianna 0-6 Foxrock Cabinteely 0-04.

Foxrock Cabinteely got the prefect start to the second half when corner forward Amy Ring finished a well worked ball past Sorcha Turnbull to grab the games first goal turning a two point deficit into a one point lead for the South side club.

Na Fianna reacted superbly to Rings goal by adding on three points,the scores coming from the boot of centre forward Nadine Doherty, O’Hara and Egan etching Na Fianna into the lead by two points with thirty eight minutes gone in the game.

However the decisive score of the contest came in the thirty ninth minute with burly full forward Orla Cullen having won possession on the edge of the square took a low speculative shot which flew past Carol Manning in the Foxrock Cabinteely goal.

In a blink of a eye Na Fianna had taken a five point lead as the final moved into the home straight.

Sinead Goldrick started to come more into the game shaking off the attention of Dublin team mate Lucy Collins, her darting runs and her precision passing where causing the Glasnevin club problems.

Amy Ring and Amy Connolly added on two more points for the Angie McNally coached team but Orlagh Egan was sublime for Na Fianna tagging a well taken free plus an excellent score from play despite clearly suffering with a leg injury.

The climax of the game was exciting with just two points separating the sides. The large crowd of spectators were witnessing a classic final and the conclusion was clearly in the melting pot.

Niamh Collins won possession from a Manning kick out and went on a darting run down the wing pumping a high ball into the Na Fianna square, somehow full back Lorraine O’Sullivan got a finger to the ball to tip it away from danger.

Having lost the 2013 and 2012 championship finals Na Fianna came into this years decider with an added determination to get the job done at the third time of asking.

This grit was shown as Na Fianna worked the ball well and holding onto possession for all their worth, making sure to retain their narrow two point lead as the scent of victory was in the air.

When referee Finbarr Shanahan blew the final whistle the roar of triumph could be heard all the way as far as Glasnevin and indeed beyond.

Na Fianna: Sorcha Turnbull, Deirdre Lyons, Lorraine O’Sullivan, Leah Caffrey, Denise Cassidy, Bronagh O’Donnell, Fiona Maye, Lucy Collins, Ciara McDermott, Claire O’Hara, Nadine Doherty, Orlagh Egan, Alma O’Donnell, Orla Cullen, Muireann O’Gorman

Scorers: Orlagh Egan 0-06 (5F), Orla Cullen 1-00, Claire O’Hara 0-03, Lucy Collins, Nadine Doherty 0-01 each

Subs: Aoife Nolan for Muireann O’Gorman, Linda Casey for Claire O’Hara, Danielle Pugh for Orlagh Egan

Foxrock Cabinteely: Carol Manning, Nuala Mohan, Ciara Murphy, Sinead Delahunty, Lorna Fusciardi, Sinead Goldrick, Sarah Brophy, Marla Candon, Aedin Murray, Niamh Collins, Ann Marie Murphy, Emma McDonagh, Amy Ring, Fiona Claffey, Amy Connolly.

Scorers: Amy Ring 1-02, Amy Connolly 0-4 (1F), Sinead Goldrick, Sarah Brophy, Ann Marie Murphy 0-01 each

Subs: Ciara O’Riordan for Marla Candon, Laurie Ahearn for Ciara Murphy, Cara Cooke for Lorna Fusciardi, Eimear O’Herlihy for Emma McDonagh

Player of the Match: Lucy Collins (Na Fianna)

Referee: Finbarr Shanahan (St Margaret’s)
Image Credit:GaaPics20140726-190604-68764175.jpg

You may also like...