Minor Ladies All Ireland Semi Match Report

Minor All Ireland Semi Final
Galway 2-10 Dublin 1-07

Dublin minors exited the 2014 championship following a six point defeat to reigning All Ireland champions Galway in a game that was played in what only could be described as monsoon like conditions before a reasonably sized crowd in St Brendan’s Park, Birr.

Indeed full credit has to go to both teams for playing such an entertaining game of football in wet, windy and sometimes dangerous under foot conditions. Last season Dublin and Galway played out two epic All Ireland final encounters but the 2014 contest was going to be down to which side could adapt better to the playing conditions.

The opening score of the semi final arrived in the 7th minute when Galway corner forward Emma Reaney tapped over a point, 3 minutes later the Caltra Cuans forward added a second. Full forward Ciara Ní Churraoin added on 2 points for the Connacht side which was followed up by another Reaney point which pushed out Galway’s lead to 5 points before Dublin registered their first score in the 15th minute courtesy of an Emma Colgan free.

Four minutes before the half time break Galway’s Aoibhinn Joyce scored the games first goal. Dublin keeper Orla McDonald had brilliantly stopped a high floating lobbed speculative shot from Louise Ward only for the on rushing Joyce to knock the rebound past the helpless Dublin keeper.

Galway took a 1-06 to 0-4 lead into the dressing room,Dublin’s additional points coming from Colgan, Rutledge and Murphy while Reaney and Louise Ward had been on target again for Galway.

Dublin introduced two half time substitutes when Stacey Flood took over from Rachael Brogan in midfield and Amy Conroy replaced the injured Leah Mullins in the full forward line.

Dublin started the half in a spirited fashion with Holly Greer registering her sides opening score of the second half, two frees from Emma Colgan reduced the deficit to just 2 points suddenly the makings of a come back was on the cards for the sky blues.

To their credit Galway showed their pedigree and never panicked absorbing the Dublin pressure with senior star Olivia Divilly tagging on two points one a converted free before the decisive score of the second half arrived courtesy once more from the boot of Aoibhinn Joyce.

A well worked move up the field out of the Galway defence ended up with Joyce sending a thunderous shot passed McDonald to push the champions 7 points clear of Dublin. Galway’s lively corner forward Emma Reaney popped over her 4th point of the game to bring the gap to 8 points.

Dublin responded to the Galway onslaught with a goal of their own, Holly Greer sent a speculative shot in on top of Galway keeper Saoirse Burke ,in the wet conditions the Naomh Mhuire keeper fumbled the ball and Amy Conroy pounced to knock the ball into the Galway net.

Dublin’s goal was scored in the 56th minute leaving Dublin with too much work to do Olivia Divilly scored her third and her sides 10th point to leave 6 points between the sides.

Shortly after match official Jonathan Murphy blew the final whistle ending Dublin’s journey in the championship and sending Galway into an All Ireland final appearance versus Cork on Monday August 4th.

Dublin: Orla McDonald, Lauren Magee, Aisling Whitely, Aoife Curran, Hannah Hegarty, Muireann Ní Scanaill, Katie Murray, Louise Ryan, Rachael Brogan, Aoife Kane, Holly Greer, Éabha Rutledge, Emma Colgan, Leah Mullins, Katie Murphy

Scorers: Emma Colgan 0-04 (3F), Amy Conroy 1-00, Éabha Rutledge, Katie Murphy, Holly Greer 0-01 each

Subs: Stacey Flood for Brogan (HT), Amy Conroy for Mullins (HT), Fiona Tuite for Ryan, Rebecca McDonnell for Kane.

Galway: Saoirse Burke, Karen Dowd, Megan Heneghan, Michelle Joyce, Eimilie Gavin, Nicola Ward, Megan Glynn, Siobhan Gavin, Ciara Burke, Olivia Divilly, Louise Ward, Shauna Hynes, Emma Reaney, Ciana Ni Churraoin, Aoibhinn Joyce.

Scorers: Aoibhinn Joyce 2-00, Emma Reaney 0-04, Olivia Divilly 0-03 (2F), Ciara Ni Churraoin 0-02, Louise Ward 0-01

Subs: Katie Carter for C Burke, Ciara Lynagh for Ni Churraoin, Orla Murphy for S Gavin, Faye Mahon for Reaney

Player of the match: Lauren Magee (Dublin)


You may also like...