It’s A Case Of Same Again For Dublin Boss McGonigle

TG4 All Ireland Senior Semi Final
Dublin v Galway
Saturday August 30th, 3:15pm
Cusack Park, Mullingar
Referee: Maggie Farrelly (Cavan)

Dublin boss Gregory McGonigle has kept faith with the same starting 15 that defeated Kerry in last week’s quarter final for this Saturday’s Cusack Park show down with Galway.

McGonigle will be the first to admit that Dublin’s performance against Kerry was a little jittery one of the factors for this below par performance was put down to Dublin’s six week layoff from competitive action since winning the Leinster final on July 13th last.

Despite not hitting their Leinster championship form McGonigle will still be pleased that all six of Dublin’s starting forwards got on the score sheet against Kerry. Sinead Aherne also punished the Kingdoms indiscipline with aplomb converting seven frees. At the back Dublin’s defence kept current All Stars Louise Ni Mhuirtceartaigh and Sarah Houlin to just two points apiece with both of Houlin’s points originating from frees.

Come Saturday Dublin will have to be totally focused on the job on hand as they endeavour to reach the 2014 All Ireland final in Croke Park on September 28th. Galway under interim managers Kevin Reidy and Martina Cummins gave an outstanding performance in their quarter final clash with Monaghan surprising a number of pundits as John Morrison’s girls were tipped by many to advance to the final four.

Galway’s Emer Flaherty, Nicola Ward, Annette Clarke and Louise Ward had assured performances for the Tribeswomen while substitutes Tracy Leonard and Olivia Divilly were both extremely influential when introduced in the second half constantly tormenting the Monaghan defence while between them contributing three points from play.

The seven day turnaround between the quarter final and semi-final is not ideal for either Galway or Dublin in terms of player recovery or preparation but Saturday’s winner will have four weeks to plot and plan for an All Ireland final against either reigning champions Cork or Ulster champions, Armagh.

Dublin Starting 15:
Cliodhna O’Connor (Naomh Mearnog),

Rachel Ruddy (Ballyboden St Endas),

Sorcha Furlong (St Brigids),

Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna),

Martha Byrne (Cuala),

Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely),

Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis),

Denise Masterson (Naomh Mearnog),

Molly Lamb (Kilmacud Crokes),

Noelle Healy (St Brigids),

Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvester’s),

Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire),

Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps),

Sinead Aherne (St Sylvester’s),

Lindsay Davey (Parnells).

Emer Ni Éafa (Fingallians),

Siobhan Woods (Raheny),

Natalia Hyland (Ballyboden St Endas),

Olivia Leonard (St Maurs),

Nicole Owens (St Sylvester’s),

Colleen Barrett (St Brigids),

Lucy Collins (Na Fianna),

Deirdre Murphy (St Brigids),

Sarah McCaffrey (Clontarf),

Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis),

Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely),

Niamh Rickard (Fingallians),

Michelle Davoren (Kilmacud Crokes),

Emma McDonagh (Foxrock Cabinteely),

Mags Mohan (Clontarf).

Panel members:
Aisling Barrett (Clann Mhuire),
Sinead Finnegan (Fingallians),
Ciara Trant (St Brigids)

Dublin v Galway will be LIVE on TG4 from 3.15pm

You may also like...