Dublin Ladies Footballer Niamh McEvoy in a sky blue jersey one of the goal scorers in yesterday’s win over Cavan, Niamh is seen breaking away with the ball from a Cavan player in a dark blue jersey with white band

Corner Back McGinley’s Two Goal Burst Put Dublin In The Box Seat For All Ireland Quarter Finals


Dublin 5-17 

Cavan 2-13


Dublin opened their account in the Group 4 round-robin phase of the All-Ireland qualifiers with a five goal haul and commanding 13-point victory over Cavan in Dunleer Co Louth, eliminating the Ulster side in the process.

A brace of first half goals each from Noelle Healy and cornerback Laura McGinley sent Dublin on their way.

Despite the final score, the reigning All-Ireland champions didn’t have it all their own way in the early exchanges as they found Cavan with their sweeper system quite tricky opponents.

Noelle Healy was a late replacement to Mick Bohan’s side, and it took her a quarter of an hour to stamp real daylight on proceedings, as last season’s player of the year finished to the net in clinical fashion.

Aishling Sheridan, Cavan’s most potent attacker on the day, responded quickly by pulling a goal back from the direct kick out and she quickly added a point from play.

Cavan captain Sinead Greene, who brought the fight all afternoon, then left a point in it, before Healy then played a quick one two with Sinead Aherne inside to find the net again.

Having pressed up on the Cavan sweeper, Laura McGinley turned the screw for the Leinster ladies as she found the net twice in a devastating spell before half time, although she didn’t appear for the second period due to injury.

Aisling Maguire did keep Cavan in touch with frees but Sinead Aherne had the final say on the half leaving it 4-8 to 1-7 at the break.

Nicole Owens and Aherne added to their tallies upon the resumption as Cavan centre forward Maguire nibbled into Dublin’s unassailable lead.

Wing forward Catherine Dolan finished a sweeping counter attacking move to leave six in it but it was a brief reprieve as Healy switched out the field with Niamh McEvoy who went inside and the move allowed both star forwards to find their groove.

Healy found more space to fire over four second-half scores and then turn provider to set up McEvoy for her goal.

The champions could afford to have Martha Byrne sin binned and the luxury of emptying the bench with the mouth watering prospect of Mayo to decide the group winners up next.


Dublin Scorers:


Noelle Healy 2-05

Laura McGinley 2-00
Niamh McEvoy 1-02 (0-1f)
Sinead Aherne 0-03 (2f)
Oonagh Whyte 0-02
Nicole Owens 0-02
Carla Rowe 0-01
Niamh Collins 0-01
Jennifer Dunne. 0-01


Cavan Scorers:

Aisling Maguire 0-07 (4f)
Aishling Sheridan 1-02
Catherine Dolan 1-00
Bronagh Sheridan 0-01
Catriona Smith 0-01
Sinead Greene 0-01
Andrea O’Reilly 0-01



1. Ciara Trant
2. Martha Byrne
3. Sinead Finnegan
4. Laura McGinley
5. Siobhan McGrath
6. Niamh Collins
16. Muireann Ní Scanaill
8. Lauren Magee
9. Olwen Carey
10. Carla Rowe
11. Niamh McEvoy
26. Noelle Healy
13. Oonagh Whyte
14. Sinead Aherne
15. Nicole Owens




Kate Fitzgibbon for Laura McGinley (HT)
Katie Murray for Sinead Aherne (38th Min)
Deirdre Murphy for Muireann Ni Scannaill (40th Min)
Sinead Goldrick for Siobhan McGrath (43rd Min)
Jennifer Dunne for Nicole Owens (52nd Min)




1. Evelyn Baugh

18. Sheila Reilly

2. Rachael Doonan

4. Joanne Moore

5. Sinead Greene

8. Nessa Byrd

7. Sinead O‘Sullivan

20. Ailish Cornyn

9. Donna English

3. Gráinne McGlade

10. Catriona Smith

11. Aisling Maguire

12. Catherine Dolan

13. Aishling Sheridan

14. Bronagh Sheridan




Laura McVeety for Joanne Moore (42nd Min)

Roisin O’Keefe for Catriona Smith (47th Min)

Andrea O’Reilly for Aisling Maguire (53rd Min)

Shauna Lynch for Aisling Cornyn (56th Min)