Dubs Trio Shoot Their Way Into TG4 Championship Quarter Final

As Dublin prepare diligently behind the scenes for their forth coming TG4 Championship quarter final we have been scrutinizing Dublin’s scoring stat’s from their recent Leinster championship campaign.

Dublin played three games en route to collecting their third consecutive Leinster crown which incidentally was their 10th provincial title over all in their Counties history having first won the Mary Ramsbottom Cup back in 2002.

In their three Leinster championship outings, Dublin amassed an impressive tally of 19 goals and 53 points their most potent sector on the field was without question the Dubs full forward line of Lyndsey Davey, Sinead Aherne and Lindsay Peat.

The trio have amassed between them a scoring total of 14 goals and 35 points totalling (77 points), Dublin’s combined sum of points scored in the championship to date stands at 110.

Leading the way on the score board is St Sylvester’s three times All Star Sinead Aherne, who has scored a personnel tally of 5-25 (10F), Aherne is followed on the score chart by Lyndsey Davey with 5-09 while Lindsay Peat has chalked up a notable 4-01.

While Dublin have been impressive to date in the championship only conceding 2-20 in three games Gregory McGonigles chargers will be extremely aware of the pitfalls of having enjoyed a successful Leinster Championship campaign only to subsequently fall flat at the quarter final hurdle.

Since winning the Brendan Martin Cup for the first time back in 2010, Dublin have exited the championship in the last three seasons at the quarter final stage losing to Cork in 2011, in 2012 to Kerry and in 2013 again to Cork .

Coincidentally those three quarter final defeats where all played in St Brendans Park, Birr making the Offaly venue somewhat of an ill-fated hunting ground for the girls in blue.

Buoyed on from their recent U21 All Ireland and Leinster championship successes Dublin will be looking forward to getting back on the field of play. Dublin management have been using the gap in the football calendar to release players back to their clubs indeed a number of the panel were involved in last week’s County Championship finals.

All focus will soon switch fully to the All -Ireland series with the quarter finals down for decision on Saturday 16th and 23rd of August.

Dublin along with Cork, Galway and Armagh will learn who their quarter final opponents will be on August 9th following the completion of the second round of championship qualifiers.

Last weekend Clare, Kildare and Meath all exited the championship race leaving Donegal, Kerry, Cavan, Laois, Tyrone, Monaghan, Westmeath, Mayo and the four Provincial winners Dublin, Cork, Armagh and Galway all in the chase for the 2014 All Ireland crown.

Dublin’s Previous Quarter Final Results:

22nd August 2011 (Birr)
Cork 2-14 (20) Dublin 3-10 (19)

20th August 2012 (Birr)
Kerry 0-11 Dublin 0-10

24th August 2013 (Birr)
Cork 1-19 (22) Dublin 2-12 (18)

You may also like...