Dublin’s U16 Ladies Footballers Look To Bridge Four Year Gap.

All Ireland U16 Final
Dublin v Cork
Saturday August 30th, 1pm
JK Brackens GAA Club, Templemore

The Dublin U16 team to face Cork in this year’s 2014 All Ireland final will be announced on Thursday evening following the panel’s final training session ahead of Saturdays show down with the Rebels in Templemore.

Dublin began their championship campaign back on the 1st of March last and on route to the decider have accounted for Kildare, Wicklow, Laois, Meath, Westmeath and Galway.

The Dublin U16 panel consists of representatives from 18 clubs across Dublin with Foxrock Cabinteely and Kilmacud Crokes leading the way with five players apiece.

Cuala, Lucan Sarsfields, O’Dwyers and O’Tooles are next up with two representatives each while Ballinteer St Johns, Ballyboden St Endas, Naomh Barrog, Naomh Mearnog, Naomh Olaf, Parnells, Round Towers Clondalkin, Round Towers Lusk, St Brigids, St Maurs and Thomas Davis each have a representative on the Dublin panel.

At the start of the season the Dublin management team selected a group of players who possess a blend of experience mixed with enthusiasm and skill. Twelve of the panel made their debut for the County in 2014 while seventeen of the group had all played previously for the sky blues at U14 level back in 2012 under former Dublin manager, Terry Jennings.

Notably four players- Ellen Curran, Hannah O’Neill, Mia Jennings and Erica Byrne also featured on Pat Kane’s Dublin U16 team who captured the Leinster title in 2013 only to lose out to a strong Cork outfit in the All-Ireland decider. Clara O’Sullivan (Naomh Olaf) the equalising heroine from the semi-final versus Galway is the sole representative from last year’s U14 panel.

It has been four years since Dublin were last crowned under 16 All-Ireland champions having suffered defeats in 2011 and 2013 at the hands of Kerry and Cork.

Everyone involved in Dublin LGFA will be hoping that 2014 will be the breakthrough year for the U16’s with success finally returning to the Capital following the heart break of the last couple of seasons.

Dublin Path to the All- Ireland Final:

17th August Dublin 6-12 (AET) Galway 4-13 Semi Final

11th May Dublin 2-15 Meath 3-04 Leinster Final

19th April Dublin 4-09 Westmeath 0-10 Round Robin

6th April Dublin 1-13 Meath 0-08 Round Robin

29th March Dublin 4-18 Laois 0-06 Round Robin

15th March Dublin 3-10 Wicklow 0-06 Round Robin

1st March Dublin 8-19 Kildare 1-06 Round Robin

Dublin Under 16 Panel.

Eleanor Ahern Ballinteer St Johns

Emily Flanagan Ballyboden St Enda’s

Billy Kate Huggard Cuala

Hannah O’Dea Cuala

Ellen Curran Foxrock Cabinteely

Hannah Foster Ryan Foxrock Cabinteely

Hannah O’Neill Foxrock Cabinteely

Tarah O’Sullivan Foxrock Cabinteely

Megan Duffy Foxrock Cabinteely

Katie Ronan Kilmacud Crokes

Mia Jennings Kilmacud Crokes

Muireann O’Gorman Kilmacud Crokes

Rachel Fleming Kilmacud Crokes

Robyn Kos Kilmacud Crokes

Danielle Murray Lucan Sarsfields

Sabrina Moloney Lucan Sarsfields

Laura Mc Ginley Naomh Barrog

Sarah Kearns Naomh Mearnog

Clara O’Sullivan Naomh Olaf

Clare Mc Grath O’Dwyers

Erica Byrne O’Dwyers

Rachel Doughlas O’Tooles

Tara Fitzgibbon O’Tooles

Leona Corr Parnells

Riona Mc Tavish Round Towers Clondalkin

Chloe Lawless Round Towers Lusk

Amy Fitzpatrick St Brigids

Martha Dwyer St Margarets

Niamh Carty St Maurs

Jade Sweeney Knot Thomas Davis

Dublin Management Team:

Ken Nyhan (St Brigids) – Manager

Paul O’Hara (Round Towers, Lusk) – Selector

Lisa Heavey (Castleknock) – Coach

Lisa Byrne (O’Dwyers) – FLO

Image Credit:GaaPics

You may also like...