A dublin Ladies footballer in a sky blue jersey gets close attention from a Mayo player in a green and red jersey during Dublin’s win which seen them advance to the All Ireland quarter finals
Dublin’s Nicole Owens receiving close attention from Mayo in today’s All Ireland round 3 qualifier


Dublin Head To All Ireland Quarter Finals With Perfect Record


Dublin 3-11

Mayo 1-08


By Daragh Small at Dr Hyde Park


Noelle Healy scored 1-02 as reigning champions Dublin advanced to quarter finals of the TG4 Ladies Football Championship with a perfect record after victory over Mayo in their Group 4 decider.

Dr Hyde Park played host to a repeat of last year’s final where 46,286 were in attendance at Croke Park on 24 September.

On this occasion the damp conditions made for a difficult first half and Dublin were 1-05 to 0-04 ahead after Clodagh McManamon’s own goal.

Mayo fought back in the second half and Fiona Doherty cancelled out Healy’s early strike. But Nicolle Owens secured victory for Dublin.

Dublin captain Sinéad Aherne won the toss and she opted to play with the wind and rain at Dublin’s backs in the opening half.

Noelle Healy scored inside the first minute but Mayo equalised through Sarah Rowe moments later.

It was an inspired score and she added another brilliant effort in the fifth minute to reduce arrears to 0-03 to 0-02.

The slippery underfoot conditions were causing havoc but Dublin kept their composure with Aherne on target twice as they raced into an early lead.


A dublin Ladies footballer in a sky blue jersey looks ahead to see where to pass the ball
Dublin’s Noelle Healy bagged 1-02 today against Mayo


The Dublin corner-forward scored her third point in the 11th minute after Niamh Kelly levelled proceedings briefly.

But Dublin took a 0-05 to 0-03 lead when Nicole Owens evaded a number of defenders and scored a great point.

Rowe converted a Mayo free, however in the 26th minute Aherne’s shot was blocked by Mayo goalkeeper Sorcha Murphy and centre back McManamon bundled the ball into her own net.

Dublin held that 1-05 to 0-04 lead into half-time but they were hit for two quick points at the start of the second half, when Rowe and Kelly scored.

Healy’s vital goal arrived in the 33rd minute and that gave Dublin a 2-05 to 0-06 lead but Doherty hit back with a Mayo goal three minutes later.

Carla Rowe had a goal disallowed for a square ball and Mayo drew level through Kelly in the 42nd minute.

But once Owens scored Dublin’s third goal in the 51st minute there was no way back for Mayo.

Sarah Rowe’s yellow card in the 19th minute of the second half was a devastating blow too.

Dublin will next face Kerry in the All Ireland quarter finals on Sunday the 12th of August at 7pm with the venue to announced shortly.

Mayo also advance to the All Ireland quarter finals Andrew will play Donegal.


Dublin Ladies Footballer in a sky blue jersey and navy shorts breaks away from a Mayo player in a green and red jersey
Dublin’s Oonagh White try’s to evade the clutches of a Mayo player in today’s TG4 All Ireland round 3 qualifier


Dublin Scorers:


Noelle Healy 1-02

Sinead Aherne 0-05 (3f)

Nicole Owens 1-01

Lyndsey Davey 0-02

Sinead Goldrick 0-01

Clodagh McManamon 1-00 (own goal)


Mayo Scorers:


Sarah Rowe 0-04 (1f)

Grace Kelly 0-03 (2f)

Fiona Doherty 1-00

Niamh Kelly 0-01


Dublin Team:


1. Ciara Trant

2. Martha Byrne

22. Deirdre Murphy

4. Leah Caffrey

5. Sinead Goldrick

6. Niamh Collins

7. Olwen Carey

8. Siobhan McGrath

9. Lauren Magee

10. Lyndsey Davey

11. Niamh McEvoy

12. Carla Rowe

13. Nicole Owens

14. Noelle Healy

15. Sinead Aherne


Dublin Substitutions:


19. Jennifer Dunne for 9. Lauren Magee (H/T)

30. Oonagh Whyte for 11. Niamh McEvoy (44th Min)

24. Hannah O’Neill for 12. Carla Rowe (47th Min)

20. Lucy Collins for 8. Siobhan McGrath (55th Min)

18. Aoife Kane for 13. Nicole Owens (60th Min)


Mayo Team:


1. Sorcha Murphy

2. Emma Lowther

17. Rebecca O’Malley

4. Daniellle Caldwell

5. Rachel Kearns

6. Clodagh McManamon

7. Kathryn Sullivan

8. Noirin Moran

19. Tamara O’Connor

10. Sarah Mulvihill

11. Fiona Doherty

12. Sinéad Cafferky

13. Niamh Kelly

14. Sarah Rowe

15. Grace Kelly


Mayo Substitutions:


18. Roisin Flynn for 8. Noirin Moran  (39th Min)

20. Emma Needham for 19. Tamara O’Connor  (48th Min)

22. Saoirse Ludden for 10. Sarah Mulvihill  (51st Min)

23. Feena McManamon for 11. Fiona Doherty (54th Min)

24. Leona Ryder for 4. Daniellle Caldwell (58th Min)