Ladies Football


By July 17, 2017 No Comments

Dublin 4-05
Galway 3-14

Dublin bowed out of the minor championship on Saturday last following a six point defeat to Connacht champions, Galway. The game which was played in humid windy conditions was an entertaining contest with both sides giving their all. Dublin were endeavouring to reach back to back minor finals while Galway were looking to book their place in the decider having lost out to Cork in the 2015 final.

The first half was a tight tense encounter with both sides exchanging points indeed the sides were level on 3 separate occasions in what was a low scoring opening period.

The decisive score of the first half came in the 29th minute when Dublin full forward Niamh Sheehan lobbed Galway keeper Laura Hession from a free kick. That goal gave Dublin a slender lead at half time as the score board read Dublin 1-04 Galway 0-06.

Galway dominated the opening period of the second half with Leanne Coen (2-01) and Amy O’Donovan (0-01) tagging on an unanswered 2-02 for the tribeswomen pushing their lead out to 7 points with 39 mins gone on the clock .

To their credit Dublin responded well as Niamh Sheehan once again found the back of the Galway net from a place ball reducing Galway’s lead to just four points. Dannielle Lawless soon after tagged on well taken point for the Leinster champions to leave just a goal between the sides.

Dublin were now being to dominate possession and soon the sides were level when the diminutive Caoimhe O’Connor scored a well worked goal for the sky blues, Dublin 3-05 (14) Galway 2-08 (14) – game on!

Galway raised their game responding emphatically to Dublin’s resurgence by outscoring the metropolitans by 1-06 to nil. Such was Galway’s dominance they held Dublin scoreless for over 18 minutes of playing time. Dublin substitute Clara O’Sullivan bagged her side a consolation goal in the 65th minute to leave the winning margin on the final whistle at 6 points.

Galway will now play Cork in the All Ireland final on Monday August 7th following the rebels 1-11 to 2-06 win over Tyrone. The minor final will be shown live on TG4 and will be preceded by the senior championship qualifier between Monaghan and Cork.

Dublin Team: Heather Smith (Garda / Westmanstown Gaels), Erin Healy (O’Dwyers), Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), Heather Bolger (Clontarf), Shannon Murtagh (Fingallians), Siabh Hannigan (Parnells), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf), Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), Eimear Loughlin (Cuala), Orla Martin (St Oliver Plunketts ER), Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters), Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), Dannielle Lawless (St Sylvesters), Niamh Sheehan (Ballinteer St Johns), Aoibhe Bell (Clontarf)

Dublin Scorers: Niamh Sheehan 2-02(2f), Caoimhe O’Connor, Clara O’Sullivan 1-00 each, Kate Sullivan, Eimear Loughlin, Danielle Lawless 0-1 each

Dublin Substitutes: Ella Thirroueiz for Martin, Clara O’Sullivan for Sullivan, Ciara McDunphy for Murtagh

Galway Team: Laura Hession, Chloe Langan, Kate Screnne, Maria Mitchell, Linda Booth, Bronagh Quinn, Aoife Molloy, Amy Coen, Regina Naughton, Laura Finnegan, Niamh Daly, Lindsey Noone, Leanne Coen, Niamh Coleman, Amy O’Donovan

Galway Substitutes: Ciara McCarthy for Coleman, Niamh Daly for A Coen, Michaela Kearney for O’Donovan, Grace Sheridan for Molly.

Galway Scorers: Leanne Coen 2-5(5f), Niamh Daly 1-02, Ciara McCarthy 0-2, Regina Naughton, Lara Finnegan, Lindsay Noone, Niamh Coleman, Amy O’Donovan 0-1 each

Dublin Sin Bins: Shannon Murtagh (48”), Caoimhe O’Connor (59”),

Galway Sin Bins: Bronagh Quinn (42”), Amy Coen (50”)

Referee: Maggie Farrelly (Cavan)