Dub Stars 3-18
Dublin 2-13

RISING DUBLIN STAR Paul Winters made a little piece of hurling history with a first penalty conversion under the new one-on-one rules.


New Dubs boss Ger Cunningham fielded a largely second string side at the Parnells club grounds in Coolock for the annual Dubs Stars challenge.

Winters was one of the young guns to impress with 1-4 in total though his goal, from a 38th minute penalty, will be remembered most.


It was the first penalty taken and scored under the new rules permitting just one player to be present on the goal line, instead of three.

Winters’ shot probably should have been saved as Dub Stars ‘keeper David Quinn got his hurl to it but the ball trickled in.

It was the first game to use the new penalty trial which will also be in place for the pre-season Walsh Cup and Waterford Crystal Cup campaigns.

Cunningham’s debut as boss ultimately ended in defeat with the Dubs Stars in front throughout.

But the Cork legend won’t be too bothered with the Dubs Stars comprised of the top club hurlers in the capital including county stars like Danny Sutcliffe who shot 0-4.

Aodhan Clabby’s 14th minute goal for Dublin after a fine solo run kept them just about in the game at half-time when they trailed 1-13 to 1-3.

Teenager Fionn O Riain Broin from the St Jude’s club was prominent for the Dubs Stars with 1-3 in the first-half and 2-5 overall.

Dublin fought back to within three points after a rally that included Winters’ penalty conversion.

But a strong finish from the Dubs Stars that included three more goal attempts from O Riain Broin, the third of which he scored, gave the club selection a comfortable and deserved win.

Scorers for Dub Stars:
Fionn O Riain Broin 2-5 (0-2f), Shane Stapleton 1-1, Danny Sutcliffe 0-4, Conor Carton and Caolan Conway 0-2 each, Rob Hardy, Andrew Morris, Oisin O’Rorke and Paul Maguire 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin:
Paul Winters 1-4 (1-0 pen, 0-2f), Aodhan Clabby 1-1 (0-1f), Cian McBride and John Hetherton 0-2 each, Martin Quilty, Shane Barrett, Glenn Whelan and Sean Ryan 0-1 each.

Dubs Stars:

1. Matt Collins

2. Cian O’Callaghan

3. Ger McManus

4. Ciaran Mangan

7. Cian MacGabhann

5. Shane Durkin

18. Ger O’Meara

8. Dillon Mulligan

9. Andrew Morris

10. Conor Carton

11. Danny Sutcliffe

12. Caolan Conway

13. Fionn O Riain Broin

14. Oisin O’Rorke

15. Shane Stapleton

Subs used

17. Rob Hardy

19. Paul Maguire


1. Conor Dooley

4. Conor Murphy

3. Shane Barrett

2. Stephen O’Connor

7. Conor Robinson

6. Martin Quilty

5. Simon Lambert

8. Cian McBride

9. John Hetheron

12. Paul Winters

11. Glenn Whelan

10. Fintan McGibb

18. Aodhan Clabby

14. James Roche

13. Sean Ryan

Subs used:

23. Peadar Carton

Referee: Danny Harrington (St Sylvester’s)
(The Score)


You may also like...