Dublin Senior Hurling Team

Dublin 1-15 Offaly 2-25
Allianz National Hurling League Division 1B
Croke Park Dublin

Two new senior hurling managers faced off, and it was Offaly boss Kevin Martin who came away from Croke Park with the result to get faithful county off to a winning start in the 2018 league.

Second half substitutes Shane Dooley and Liam Langton raised green flags, handing Pat Gilroy’s Dublin side a heavy defeat in their first league fixture.

Sticking with a similar side that got Dublin two wins in the Walsh Cup, Gilroy handed league debuts to Bill O’Carroll, Cian Hendricken, Cian McBride, Tomás Connolly, Fergal Whitely, Ronan Smith, Alan Moore and Paul Winters.

The faithful got the better of the opening exchanges, with Oisin Kelly, Joe Bergin and Colin Egan all registering scores. Chris Crummey got Dublin’s account up and running in the eight, followed soon after by one each from play by Paul Winters and Fergal Whitely. But Dublin were finding it difficult to contain Offaly, as Bergin, Daniel Currams and Shane Kinsella added three more before Alan Moore’s reply.

It was only Paul Winters strike in the 26th that gave Dublin fans some hope. Shane Barrett broke forward finding Winters on the right with space to bury the ball past Conor Slevin and give Dublin a well needed goal. Sadly Offaly responded immediately and at the break Dublin trailed 0-05 with a half time score of 1-08 to 0-16.

Eamon Dillon and Donal Burke made Dublin look a lot livelier in the second session, but Offaly substitute Shane Dooley was to make an immediate impact. Having already knocked over their first score of the half, Dooley would convert a penalty in front of Hill 16 after Conor Mahon was brought down in the area.

Dublin only managed 0-05 for the rest of the half, from Niall McMorrow, Donal Burke (2), John Hetherton and Ronan Smith, and it wasn’t enough as Offaly would amass another 1-08.

There could have been a second penalty as Alan Nolan challenged Liam Langton in the area but as ref Paud O’Dwyer let play continue, Langton comfortably put the ball in the net and the game beyond Dublin’s reach.

Full time score Dublin 1-15 Offaly 2-25

Scorers for Dublin:
Donal Burke 0-06 (5f)
Paul Winters 1-01
Alan Moore 0-02
Chris Crummey 0-01
Fergal Whitely 0-01
Niall McMorrow 0-01
John Hetherton 0-01
Ronan Smith 0-01
Eamonn Dillon 0-01

Scorers for Offaly:
Shane Dooley 1-05 (1-0 pen, 5f)
Joe Bergin 0-06 (3f, 1 ’65)
Shane Kinsella 0-03
Oisin Kelly 0-03 (1 sideline)
Colin Egan 0-03
Liam Langton 1-00
Daniel Currams 0-02
Damien Egan 0-02
Dermot Shortt 0-01

1. Alan Nolan
2. Paddy Smyth
3. Bill O’Carroll
4. Cian Hendricken
5. Shane Barrett
6. Cian McBride
7. Chris Crummey
8. Johnny McCaffrey
9. Tomás Connolly
10. Donal Burke
11. Fergal Whitely
12. Ronan Smith
13. Alan Moore
14. Paul Winters
15. Fionn O’Riain Broin

24. Eamonn Dillon for O Riain Broin (26)
18. Darren Kelly for McBride (35 – half-time, blood sub)
21. Niall McMorrow for McCaffrey (43)
23. Conal Keaney for Moore (46)
25. John Hetherton for Winters (52)
19. James Madden for Hendricken (65)

1 Conor Slevin
2 Thomas Spain
3 Sean Gardiner
4 Ben Conneely
5 Patrick Delaney
6 Patrick Camon
7 Dermot Shortt
8 David King
9 Shane Kinsella
10 Joseph Bergin
11 Colin Egan
12 Damien Egan
13 Oisin Kelly
14 Conor Mahon
15 Daniel Currams

17. Shane Dooley for Bergin (half-time)
23. Thomas Geraghty for Egan (52)
24. Liam Langton for Mahon (62)
18. David O’Toole for Conneely (71)
20. Daniel Doughan for Delaney (75)