Two Dubs have made the 2014 GAA/GPA All Star hurling nominations list, sponsored by Opel.

Two-time All Star Liam Rushe and goalkeeper Alan Nolan are included in the shortlist of 45 which is obviously dominated by Kilkenny and Tipperary.

Recently crowned All-Ireland champions Kilkenny lead the count with no fewer than 13 players making the shortlist for awards.

They are followed closely by beaten finalists Tipperary who receive 11.

The remainder of the 45 places go to Limerick (7), Cork (6) Wexford (3), Dublin (2) and one apiece for Clare, Offaly and Galway.

This shortlist of nominees was selected by GAA journalists and the awards for the successful 15 candidates, along with the Player of the Year awards, will be made at the All-Star banquet on October 24 in Dublin.

Contenders for both the Player of the Year and the Young Player of the Year awards are also listed below. The shortlists for these awards will be voted on by the GPA membership.

2014 Hurling Nominations

Goalkeepers: Darren Gleeson (Tipperary), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Alan Nolan (Dublin).

Full-backs: Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Séamus Hickey (Limerick), Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Stephen McDonnell (Cork), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny), Liam Ryan (Wexford).

Half-backs:Kieran Bergin (Tipperary), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Mark Ellis (Cork), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Lorcán McLoughlin (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick).

Midfield:Paul Browne (Limerick), Lee Chin (Wexford), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Shane McGrath (Tipperary), James Ryan (Limerick).

Half-forwards: Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Conor Lehane (Cork), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Conor Cooney (Galway).

Full forwards: Alan Cadogan (Cork), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), Shane Dowling (Limerick), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor McDonald (Wexford), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Conor McGrath (Clare), Brian Carroll (Offaly).

Young Player of the Year

Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

Shane Dowling (Limerick)

Conor McDonald (Wexford)

Player of the Year

Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

Séamus Callanan (Tipperary)

TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Image Credit: INPHOIMG_5042.JPG

You may also like...