The Kilkenny Minors Finished String to see off Dublin in opening Leinster Minor Fixture

Dublin Minor Hurling - Leinster Championship

Dublin 4-12
Kilkenny 3-23

On any other day 4-12 would be enough to comfortably win a game, but for Dublin’s Minors it wasn’t enough to stop a late run of 1-05 unanswered giving Kilkenny the edge needed to get across the line.

Luke Swan was massive for the young Dubs this afternoon, scoring a hat-trick of goals, but Conor Kelly, who finished with 0-14 for Kilkenny, scored five points on the bounce to end the game.

Swan had given Dublin the best start with an early goal, following Liam Dunne’s opening point, but Kilkenny would pull 0-02 back with scores from Jack Morrissey and Ciaran Brennan.

Dunne and Dara Purcell would score to keep 0-04 between the sides but Kilkenny in a five minute spell would score 1-02, the goal from Cathal O’Leary, to put them in front, but only for less than a minute.

Dublin Minor Hurling - Leinster Championship

Luke Swan would get his second but by the half time whistle, Kilkenny had again turned the screw with George Murphy adding their second goal, as the teams traded blows for the remainder of the session. The Cats would take a 0-03 lead into the break 2-07 to 2-10.

Kelly extended that lead to 0-06 for Kilkenny within the first five minutes of the second half with three converted frees.

Dublin continued to press and got within 0-02 of Kilkenny when Liam Dunne’s goal was eventually given after a few moments of confusion after the umpire raised the green flag.

As we got into the last quarter Kelly and Dunne had added 0-03 and 0-02 respectively, leaving 0-03 between the sides. And when Dunne struck for Dublin’s fourth goal it was all square with five minutes of normal time to play.

But a fantastic Brennan goal spurred Kilkenny on to close out the game with Kelly hitting five unanswered points in-a-row.

Dublin now face Laois in O’Moore Park next Saturday.

Dublin Scorers:
14. Luke Swan 3-01
13. Liam Dunne 1-07 (5f, 1 ’65’)
15. Dara Purcell 0-02
6. Alex O’Neill 0-01
11. Pierce Christie 0-01

Kilkenny Scorers:
C Kelly 0-14 (12f)
C Brennan 1-03 (1f)
G Murphy 1-02
C O’Leary 1-01
J Morrissey 0-02
C Kenny 0-01

1. Jack Lambert
2. Kevin Byrne
3. Ciaran Hogan
4. Tom Cullen
5. Eoin Carney
6. Alex O’Neill
7. Iain Ó hEithir
8. Donal Leavy
9. Daragh Power
10. Daragh McLoughney
11. Pearce Christie
12. Ciaran Foley
13. Liam Dunne
14. Luke Swan
15. Dara Purcell

Dublin Substitutes:
19. Finn Murphy For 4. Tom Cullen (HT)
17. Conor Murray For 10. Daragh McLoughney (35)
22. Aaron O’Toole For 12. Ciaran Foley (49)
23. Seamus Fenton For 15. Dara Purcell (57)
21. Sean Foran For 9. Daragh Power (62)

1. Jason Brennan
2. Pádraig Dempsey
3. Jamie Young
19. Jamie Harkin
5. Shane Staunton
6. Pádraic Moylan
7. Harry Walsh
8. Cian Kenny
9. Conor Kelly
10. Darragh Maher
11. Ciarán Brennan
12. Killian Hogan
13. Cathal O’Leary
14. Jack Morrissey
15. George Murphy

Kilkenny Substitutes:
21. Eoin Guilfoyle For 12. Killian Hogan (46)