Dublin 0-24
Kildare 0-19

DUBLIN NEEDED EXTRA-time before finally wearing down the challenge of Kildare and grasping early season silverware in Newbridge today.


A highly entertaining O’Byrne Cup final at St Conleth’s swung in Dublin’s favour as they finished powerfully in extra-time. The one cloud on Dublin’s horizon after the game was the dismissal of key midfielder Michael Darragh MacAuley at the end of normal-time when he received a straight red card after a challenge on Gary White.

Dean Rock was key to Dublin’s success as he top-scored with 0-10 while man-of-the-match Kevin McManamon – who also missed an extra-time penalty – struck 0-4 and Tomás Brady chipped in with 0-3.


Kildare’s Darroch Mulhall was extremely accurate from placed balls as he landed 0-7 while the long-range striking of Eamon Callaghan saw him grab 0-3 and that tally was matched by impressive substitute Padraig Fogarty.

The Lilywhites were sluggish in the opening stages as Dublin dictated matters. The teams were level at 0-3 apiece by the 13th minute before Dublin stitched together six points without reply. Rock and McManamon were at the heart of their best attacks as they moved into a commanding position.

But Kildare hauled themselves off the ropes before half-time with some splendid long-range points from Callaghan and Padraig O’Neill. Rock sent over the last point of the half to leave Dublin three in front yet Kildare remained in the hunt.

In the second-half of normal time, the action continued to ebb and flow. Slowly Kildare started to move into the ascendancy and after Dublin went in front by 0-13 to 0-10, Jason Ryan’s team posted four points on the bounce. The last of those was a 62nd minute Mulhall free and suddenly the home support was in full voice as their team hit the front.

Back came Dublin courtesy of points from Rock and Brady before Kildare cancelled out that burst with scores from Mulhall and Fogarty. Dublin’s saviour came in the unlikely form of Kilmacud Crokes defender Eoin Culligan as he joined the attack to lob over the equalising point. There was still enough time for more drama as MacAuley was sent-off and Mulhall missed a chance to win it for Kildare from a free before extra-time beckoned the two teams.

In extra-time, Dublin’s legs and sharpness told as they strode ahead of their opponents in the fading daylight. They were in front 0-20 to 0-19 at the midway mark of extra-time and kept Kildare scoreless before adding four points themselves. Mark Donnellan got down well to tip away a penalty by McManamon but the St Judes man had the final say when he whipped over an insurance point.


Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 0-10 (0-08f, 0-01 ’45),
Kevin McManamon 0-04,
Tomas Brady 0-03,
Eoghan O’Gara 0-02,
Shane Carthy 0-02,
Cormac Costello 0-01,
Eoin Culligan 0-01,
Michael Deegan 0-01.

Scorers for Kildare:

Darroch Mulhall 0-07 (0-07f),
Eamon Callaghan. 0-03,
Padraig Fogarty 0-03,
Eamon Murphy (0-02f),
Padraig O’Neill 0-02,
Fionn Dowling 0-01
Gary White 0-01.


1. Sean Currie (Ballymun Kickhams)

4. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
2. Eoin Culligan (Kilmacud Crokes)

5. Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

17. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge-Street)
9. Emmett Ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Tomás Brady (Na Fianna)
11. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge-Street)

13. Kevin McManamon (St Judes)
14. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge-Street)
15. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)

20. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna) for Devereux (inj) (12)
18. Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg) for Scully (half-time)
26. Philip Ryan (St Brigid’s) for Costello (half-time)
8. Michael Dara MacAuley (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for Bastick (48)
21. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens) for McCaffrey (52)
24. Graham Hannigan (Castleknock) for Cooper (black card) (62)
– Denis Bastick the extra man back on for Dublin for extra-time.
23. Michael Deegan (Donaghmore-Ashbourne) for O’Gara (80)
22. Harry Dawson (Skerries Harps) for Brady (88)
19. Niall Collins (St Patrick’s Donabate) for McManamon (89)


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

3. Ciaran Fitzpatrick (Kilcock)
2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
7. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)

6. Daryl O’Brien (Carbury)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)
5. Eoin Doyle (Naas)

8. Hugh Lynch (Confey)
9. Padraig O’Neill (St Laurence’s)

25. Eamon Murphy (Leixlip)
10. Eamon Callaghan (Naas)
12. Kevin Murnaghan (Moorefield)

13. Fionn Dowling (Suncroft)
14. Tomás O’Connor (Clane)
15. Darroch Mulhall (Athy)

26. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge) for Doyle (42)
22. Gary White (Sarsfields) for Lynch (49)
17. Gavin Farrell (Castledermot) for Fitzpatrick (51)
24. Padraig Fogarty (St Laurence’s) for Murphy (56)
11. David Whyte (Moorefield) for Dowling (78)
20. Brian Kinahan (Athy) for O’Grady (85)
19. Willie Burke (Two Mile House) for Mulhall (89)

Referee: David Gough (Meath)
(The 42)


You may also like...