Dublin v Wexford - Leinster U20 Football

A strong second half performance secured a Leinster U20 Football Semi Final for the boys in blue

Wexford 0-11
Dublin 1-15

Dublin’s U20 Footballers continued their 100% run in the all new Leinster U20 Championship with a convincing win in Innovate Wexford Park this afternoon. A second half goal Ross McGarry goal was part of the fightback as the Dubs finished the first half 0-03 down.

For Wexford, this result sees an end to their campaign, as Westmeath beat Longford in today’s other game to secure a Quarter Final position.

Wexford got the game going with a Richie Waters score in the third, but Dan O’Brien and Cormac Howley chalked 0-02 for Dublin to edge ahead.

Waters, Kyle Firman and Sean Nolan gave the home team a 0-04 to 0-02 lead before Ross McGarry scored his opening score on 11 minutes. But Wexford went three more unanswered thanks to Cathal Devereux (2) and a huge free from keeper Ivan Meegan.

Megan would provide the highlight of the first half he took off and went on a run down the field and finished with a huge kick inside Dublin’s 65-metre line.

James Doran converted a free for Dublin to close the gap slightly ending the half 0-08 to 0-05

With the wind at their backs in the second half, Dublin only took six minutes to level up the game with scores from Dan O’Brien, Sean Farrelly and James Doran, and a minute later Cormac Howley got the Dubs the lead for the first time.

Meegan pointed another free for Wexford to level things once again before Dublin were awarded a penalty, which Dan O’Brien chose to place over the bar to edge ahead.

With Wexford equalising again the breakthrough finally came for Dublin as James Doran created the opening for McGarry to palm to ball past Meegan for Dublin’s goal. Naomh Olaf’s Tom Keane, who’d replaced James Holland in the 42nd minute, scored four points over the last 12 minutes with James Doran getting the last of the action to see Dublin comfortably over the line and into the Semi Finals on June 30th.

Scorers for Wexford:

Ivan Meegan 0-04 (3f)
Richie Waters 0-02
Kyle Firman 0-02
Cathal Devereux 0-02
Seán Nolan 0-01

Scorers for Dublin:

Ross McGarry 1-03 (0-01 pen)
Tom Keane 0-04
Cormac Howley 0-03
Seán Farrelly 0-02
James Doran 0-02 (1f)
Dan O’Brien 0-01


1. Ivan Meegan
4. David O’Keeffe
3. Mark O’Neill
2. Frank Roche
5. Dylan Furlong
6. Ronan Devereux
7. Gavin Sheehan
8. Darragh Lyons
9. Richie Waters
12. Kyle Firman
11. Mikey Dwyer
10. Robbie Brooks
15. Cathal Devereux
14. Jamie Meyler
13. Seán Nolan


17. Quinn Saunders for Brooks (temp., 24) Saunders for O’Keeffe (45)
18. John Dunne for Brooks (45)
19. Cathal Walsh for Nolan (56)
24. Jack O’Leary (for Dwyer (59)
20. Paddy Dunbar for Roche (60+3)
23. Jamie Thomas for Devereux (60+3).


1. David O’Hanlon
4. Ciarán Smith
3. Nathan Doran
2. Seán Farrelly
5. Seán Farrelly
6. Neil Matthews
7. Eoin O’Dea
8. Donal Ryan
9. Eoghan Fitzpatrick
10. Cormac Howley
11. Karl Lynch Bissett
12. Ross McGarry
13. Dan O’Brien
14. James Doran
15. Sean Bugler


20. James Holland for Fitzpatrick (43)
24. Tom Keane for Howley (43)
23. Ciarán Archer for O’Brien (52)
18. Nathan Nolan for Farrelly (53)
19. Rob Shaw for O’Dea (58)
22. Daniel Brennan for Lynch Bissett (59).