Ballyboden St Enda’s will battle it out with reigning champions, St Vincent’s, in the semi-final of the Dublin SFC after a hard earned victory over Lucan Sarsfields in O’Toole Park this afternoon.

Boden who were minus the injured Michael Dara Macauley got into their stride early on and two early points from Declan O’Mahony gave them the early lead. Further points from Ryan Basquel and Andrew Kerin pushed them further ahead.

Lucan were having the same problem as the earlier vanquished Brigid’s team and wasted some great approach work with some poor wides.

By the break and with Bodens Kerin deadly from placed balls Ballyboden led by six points on a scoreline of 0-10 to 0-04.

Lucan had the wind at their backs for the second half and looked to take advantage of it,but it was Boden who got the first score after the break with a fine point from Conal Keaney.

Lucan did put up a fight and a couple of scores in a eight minute spell of dominance from Emmet O Conghaile and a fine couple of Brendan Gallagher frees reduced the deficit.

But Boden always seemed to be able to pull away again and Lucan never got close enough to the Firhouse Road men to cause them too much alarm. A late black card for Lucan’s Peter Kelly and injury time point for Boden were the last two acts of an intriguing battle. -Nigel

SCORERS – Ballyboden St Enda’s: A Kerin 0-6 (0-2f), S Molony 0-3, D O’Mahony, R Basquel (0-1f) 0-2 each, C Keaney 0-1. Lucan Sarsfields: B Gallagher (0-3f), E O Conghaile 0-3 each, S O’Shaughnessy, S Newcombe, D Gallagher 0-1 each.

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: D Walsh; P O’Brien, R McDaid, S O’Connor; D Nelson, B Dwane, C Flaherty; A Waters, D O’Mahony; D O’Reilly, S Molony, S Gibbons; R Basquel, C Keaney, A Kerin. Subs: A Flood for Molony; K Naughton for Keaney; M O’Sullivan for Flaherty; C Smyth for O’Reilly; T Hannifin for Dwane.

LUCAN SARSFIELDS: F Gordon; S Cleary, P Kelly, C McHugh; M McCaffrey, D Gallagher, P Casey; B Collopy, A Hope; J McCaffrey, S O’Shaughnessy, S Newcombe; B Gallagher, E O Conghaile, J McCormack. Subs: S Garbutt for McCormack; D Gallagher for Hope; C Gallagher for O’Shaughnessy.

REF: J King (Garda).IMG_5012.JPG

You may also like...