Naomh Uinsionn 3-07

Cumann Baire Caoimhín 0-03.

Naomh Uinsionn got off to the better start in this sporting Senior 5 championship final.

Alison Walsh sent over a point on 2 minutes. Cumann Baire Caoimhin settled into the game and Claire Graham replied with a pointed free on 5 minutes.

For the next 15 minutes neither side managed to trouble the scoreboard with the ball going from one end of the pitch to the other.

But a combination of good defending and some poor wides from both side albeit in testing conditions with a strong swirly wind making it difficult to judge point attempts led to the the scoreless period.

Then Claire Grahan got things going again when she sent over her second point of the half on 20 minutes. Five minutes later Ami Burke in the CBC goals made a great save only to see Naoise Perry pounce on the rebound and put the ball in the back of the net to leave Vincents 1-01 to 0-02 at the end of a very low scoring first half.

One worry for Cumann Baire Caoimhin after the break was the wind seem to pick up in strength to the advantage of Vincents.

And those fears were realised when Vincents Alison Walshe and Niamh Lawlor had quick points on the board.

CBC did reply with Claire Graham’s third point of the game but Unfortunately for CBC this proved to be their only score of the half.

What filled was wave after wave of Vincents attacks and the pressure told as they added 2-04 to the scoreboard to leave them comfortable winners when referee Derek Brannigan (Good counsel) called full time.


Naomh Uinsionn:
Alison Walsh 1-04
Naoise Berry 1-00
Leanne Regan 1-00
Niamh Lawlor 0-01
Jessica Cummins 0-01
Emma Byrne 0-01

Cumann Baire Caoimhín: Claire Graham: 0-03.

Player of the Final:
Alison Walsh Naomh Uinsionn.

Naomh Uinsionn:

1: Angela Condron
2: Sinead Gilheany (Co Captain)
3: Ciara Geraghty
4: Sinead Kiernan
5: Hannah Devlin (Co Captain)
6: Louise Harney
7: Una O’Neill
8: Emma Byrne
9: Niamh Lawlor
10: Eimear Ni Cuinneachain
11: Jessica Cummins
12: Alison Walsh
13: Michelle Judge
14: Naoise Perry
15: Meltem Brady
16: Ciara Drumgoole
17: Lorna Hurley
18: Siobhan Peel
19: Leanne Regan
20: Emma Coyle
21: Deirdre Canning
22: Orla McKinney
23: Roisin Kiernan
24: Ciara O’Doherty
25: Aisling O’Reilly
26: Kimberly Walsh.

Michael Connolly
Pascal Lee.

Cumann Baire Caoimhin:

1: Sarah Cullen
2: Mags De Burca
3: Sarah Carthy
4: Claire Lynch
5: Cliona Devitt
6: Laura Devery
7: Amy O’Halloran
8: Sarah Butler
9: Louise Brennan
10: Emma Young
11: Claire Graham
12: Denise Devery
13: Veronica Kubat
14: Amy Guinan
15: Emma Martin
16: Mariesa Harvey
17: Sarah Byrne
18: Holly Cummins
19: Amanda Walton
20: Joanne Prendergast
21: Jennifer Kearns
22: Amy Burke
23: Shauna Murray.

Peter William
Alan Williams.IMG_6878.JPG

You may also like...